Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:13 p.m. - Still Tues., Dec. 20, 2005
Part II
Part II

Alright it is now late evening and I think I might have everything bought for everybody except the gifts of the people I have forgotten. This first sentence should tell you how frazzled my tiny little mind has gotten. I spent the late morning and early afternoon with Diane and got her kids taken care of and my sister Joyce taken care of and my sister Jill taken care and we decided to skip exchanging gifts between us to girls, which as an after thought I sorta feel badly about, since I am buying for Laurie and Tiffany. What a rotten friend I am. I think I will however give her some of the wonderful candied pop corn I have made. It is so very yummy, I made butterscotch and peanut butter so far and I have watermelon to make yet. Maybe I will get some more butterscotch and make her a nice big tub of it!! That would be wonderful I do believe!! The one person I haven�t gotten anything for yet is Aunt Jane. I haven�t a clue as to what to get her! She has money so she just buys whatever it is she wants. I was thinking about making her a nice plate of cookies and some popcorn but I�m not sure that she can eat it. HUMMM� old people seem to have troubles with sticky stuff with the false teeth and all. I�m not at all sure what to get her. GRRR!! Maybe I should call my sister Jill and see what she is getting her. The rest of the day was spent at cheerleading practice, which was fine except for I had to let the girls know I wasn�t all to happy about having to clean up after them last night. OYY!! Other than that things went rather well. Tomorrow after practice we have a booster meeting. You know� I have a problem with boosters sometimes! **ohhh no I feel a rant coming on�.be warned!** Here it is� my daughter hasn�t benefited much at all from all this so called booster money. Sometimes I think people are too greedy or too materialistic and they think these kids need all this stuff. Ok I think it was nice they got a hoody sweatshirt; one per child they bought. The coaches got one too. They also bought some for the new girls coming into cheerleading this year, but that is as far as it went. They had something like $1,000.00 in their account and we have to have more fundraisers?? Does anyone else think this is a bit of overkill?? So I go along with it, since I guess they would like to help the girls out so they only have to raise half the money for camp this year which will be something like $300 because Tiff is thinking she wants to take them back to Erie. I�m not sure what I think about that. But anyhow� we had this �mandatory� raffle ticket sale for a nice yard stone *it says welcome with a pine tree on it.* Tickets were only a buck and each child was to sell 25. Not to hard Kay was able to sell hers, but we didn�t sell more than the mandatory amount. First of all I have a hard time with the whole �mandatory� word in conjunction with boosters. All the booster are are parents of the kids in that sport. Now the school provides uniforms, a place to practice, a coach *one paid one but it�s about $2,200 a season,* transportation to and from the sporting event they are cheering for, and so much allotted for supplies for making run through signs and whatnot. What more do these girls need other than the camp money. Now my daughter never did well enough for the fundraiser to pay much for her camp I paid almost all of it. She never got any money towards her camp out of the general fund. So I have a problem with them *the booster club* saying my daughter who is a senior needs to sell this or else. Or else what, they can�t do anything to her, and I have a real problem with a coach punishing a child if they don�t participate in a booster fundraiser. That actually ticks me off. Now I can see if a coach doing a mandatory buyout or fundraiser participation of X amount of dollars in order to give the group the money for banquet, senior gifts, and Christmas party. This I understand, but not the booster thing. It is a terrible thing that people have become so terribly materialistic that they force families to sell stuff 4 times a season in addition to the one fundraiser for each season if they are in a fall and a winter sport. I am sorta happy Kay is a senior that way I don�t have to deal with this next year. There is a booster meeting tomorrow night and I am going to tell everyone that I am have to work at 7 so I can only stay till about 6:30, because Kay has tests to study for and she hasn�t been feeling well and I don�t think it good for her to be stuck at the school till 8 p.m. I also hear that some of the basketball Mom�s are coming and they are angry, well that is their own fault for not coming to the meetings to share how they feel about the whole �mandatory� sale of these raffle tickets! I don�t care to be involved in this drama since I hate selling stuff. Unfortunately our illustrious President thinks every one should be able to sell 3 times what they min. is. She told me the other night at the match that her daughter sold 75 tickets. Well good for her I said, but then she went on to tell me that she can�t understand why these kids can�t sell more that there has to be at least one working parent with access to people at work to sell to. I said unless they have a parent like Kayla�s who won�t sell fundraiser stuff at work. The hubby boy isn�t comfortable selling stuff to begin with and he says I have no money to be buying stuff from them so I won�t ask. I understand and respect that. Kay did her minimum and that is all. I won�t ask my clients either I will put the flier up but I won�t ask. This is the same woman who by the way thinks it is ok to gloat over winning and allow the girls to do rude cheers, and argues this point with Tiffany. This makes me feel sorta annoyed because I do believe that kids need to see an example of good sportsmanship from us coaches and if they choose to be poor sports out side of school activities then so be it, but dang it all I don�t think they should be allowed to be that way in school. I�m not sure I want to keep helping if this is going to be the way of it. OYY! I guess I�m just too old fashioned to �keep up� with these younger people. OHH well it will be what it is going to be. I will be me and I will keep trying to be the voice of morals and values, in a sea of complacency and rudeness. Alright end rant.

On a brighter note.. I am an observer, I look at things from a different perspective I guess, and this perspective was from a public restroom today. As I went in search of a key for this restroom I was thinking man what is in there they don�t want stolen? I get the key and key chain which is a 2 � ft length of broom stick and open the door to find that first of all no gold anything if anything this particular restroom was less that what you would find in a bus station! So I go in to go potty and I am rather surprised to find seat covers, wow�. Now that is something. So I claim my seat cover to realize it is a rather substandard seat cover but a seat cover nonetheless, so I did my business and found that they did indeed have soap but no warm water thank goodness they did provide paper towels and nice hand warmer *blow drier, wanna be*. I guess the moral of the story is you can judge the caliber of the store by what type of seat covers they have and if they don�t supply them one should rethink the whole idea! My friend Diane thought I was rather odd when I told her this! Good thing that she knows me very well!! I had so much fun shopping with her today.

I�m tired and I�m not used to the acrylic nails I did on my self the other day and I am finding it difficult to type so I am off to bed since I need to be up early since I need to make some more no bake cookies since the ones that Kay made aren�t the best and I think since my sister Jill is paying for them I should make her some good ones. I also need to make 4 more pumpkin rolls, they aren�t hard just a smidge time consuming, but not really I just need to get to it and get it done. I have a perm tomorrow too! YAY!! I need the money! So off to be I go!!

Always remember and never forget� if a store isn�t nice enough to have toity seat covers then maybe it isn�t nice enough to employ janitors!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!