Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:02 a.m. - Friday, May 13, 2005
What a week this has been!!
Well Prom 2005 is over and my daughter is home safe and sound. It was a busy day for me, although not as busy a day as I thought it would be. I ended up doing only 3 do�s for the prom; my daughter, a girl who I have done her other two sisters for their proms, and a friend of my daughters.

Dinner at Valenti�s was chicken salad and water, for Kay and prime rib for Greg, the date. A good time was had by all and by all there was, Kay and her date Greg, Nicole and Garrett, Yori and her date Rob, and Danielle and Kevin. They had a good time doing the whole dinner thing. Yori�s date was very nice and picked up the dinner tab for Greg and Kay. After dinner was Prom at the Riverside Inn. What a beautiful place to take photos.

Whoaah� was her first thought at seeing the throng of people watching �the dressed to the nine�s couples� arrive. Although there wasn�t a John Deere this year there was a honking big motor home deliver 10 couples. The driver was dressed in a chauffeur�s outfit. I took 30 some photos and the kids were wonderfully cooperative getting told where to stand and how to look. Kay loves getting her photo taken so it was hamming it up for the camera. It was amazing how many parents turned out to take photos and wish the kids a wonderful evening. It was almost a party atmosphere among the photographers and photographees.

Drifting Away on Memories, was the blue and white theme this year. Decorations of starry balloons and blue tulle with white stars decked out the ballroom. Frosted Champagne glasses were the favors.

This was a magical night full of good food, dancing, and great camaraderie. It was fun maybe I�ll go next year, were Kay�s thoughts on the whole deal. It was exciting to get all dressed up and be adult enough to go to dinner and a dance. The photographs and stroll through friends at the Riverside was a highlight of the evening. The DJ played awesome music just the right amount of slow and fast music for dancing! What a full day! It seemed like the day lasted 3 weeks. Half day of school, running errands in town, getting hair, nails and dressed, then off for photos with Greg�s family and into town for dinner and out to the Prom for dancing and fun. When I asked her if it was all it was hyped to be she said �it was different than I thought it would be but it was fun.� The last comment I heard before she took her weary self off to bed was,,, �thanks mom for everything you did to make my day wonderful I couldn�t have got through it without you.� She is such a sweet child well young lady. I�m glad she had a good time and I�m glad she shared it with me.

It was hard for me to see her in a vehicle with a boy for the first time alone. First car date! How cool. He seemed like a good kid and the other young man that was with them was very responsible and he assured me that he was a good driver. He brought my baby home safe and sound, I can�t say I was that worried, it lingered in the back of my mind but as soon as it would surface I would just say a little prayer for guardian angels to watch over them and it was alright. So I guess this bit of letting go and growing up was a success for both of us! I think I won�t have a problem if she wants to go out now and then with someone. She got to ride home from school today with a girlfriend and they even went into town before they came home. I was ok with that. I guess this was more of a gentle growing that wasn�t too painful. I knew one day my kids would grow up and become young adults that drive cars and go out. I did,, why wouldn�t they. I just didn�t know it would be hard for me to trust the others that they would be doing this with. I think I did very well for being anal me about this! I think I grew a little today too.

So the prom was a success and I think she is looking forward to it next year. She was beautiful I will try to get a photo posted soon.

After I got done taking pictures at the prom Tiff and I went to Perkins for coffee, and a snack. It was a very nice visit. We haven�t gotten together in a long time. I miss her when we don�t get to talk much. It seems like cheering season was forever ago! I got home about 10 min or less before Kay did so it was neat to be here when she got home.

On a totally unrelated note, I am done working, well at least for the lawyer I was working for. She found someone to take the full time position that was my job. I was just as torn about leaving as I was staying. I wish it would have been able to stay part time the way we agreed. I sure will miss the money! I need to run an ad and do some work in the shop and build my beauty shop business back up again. Of course I bawled about this. It was so abrupt she interviewed her and they talked at lunch and BL came in and told me she would take the job and would be starting today *well she said tomorrow because it was yesterday when she told me.* So I cleaned out my personal things and tidied up some loose ends and came home. It took me about 2 hours to do all this. I figured I would have a day or two�s notice and get to go out to lunch to say good bye to everyone but nope and I don�t think Michael or Darci really cared if I stayed or left. Bernadette did seem to be a bit bummed but this girl is someone who has worked for her before and so they are friends sorta. So it is over. I have a check to pick up and I would like to make Jess a template for her labels. I told her I would but not sure I can do that now. Maybe I could on here tell her how to do it. I don�t know. I�m glad BL and I are still friends, no hard feelings and things will be fine.

OHH well I�m not sure what I will do now. I still want to coach and I still want to run the beauty shop and well something will come along. I am certain God will take care of me.

It�s late and I have a full day in the beauty shop tomorrow so I am off to slumber land.

Always remember and never forget� Preconceived ideas can sometimes ruin things if you can�t accept the fact that it isn�t what you thought it would be.

PS What do you all think of my new snazzy background?? My wonderful friend did this for me. I thank her and appreciate her very much!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!