Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:51 a.m. - Thrus. Nov 18, 2004
Whaa whoo for us!!
THEY ARE DONE!!! DONE!! DONE!!! DONE!! DONE! The cheering books were finished at 3:30 pm yesterday afternoon!! Of course the banquet was at 6:30, and I like an idiot scheduled a color/cut in the shop for 3:45, I also still had to make my dish, *tuna helper* to take and be ready by 5:50! Nothing like cutting it a bit close eh?? I was so happy noo elated when I laid the last one dawn finished!!! The banquet was alright Tiffany was still a bit upset that nobody bothered to call her and let her know when the banquet was. I mentioned it on Monday. OYY!!! She didn�t sit at the head table with the coaches she sat with us.. the girls and Megan�s mom Holly�s mom and Me! I also liked the way she told everyone that the cheerleaders work hard to raise spirit and aren�t given any respect. Then she presented her awards, Kay got Pop Tart Queen!!! The story behind that is she couldn�t stay focused during practice one afternoon and finally Tiff asked her what did you eat,, and she said Pop Tarts! Tiff told her she wasn�t allowed to do that before practice any more!! Just joking but she got teased about pop tarts from then on. Tiff also gave out 2 serious awards, Most Improved, and Best Cheerleader or something, I can�t remember but for being all around good cheerleader and person I guess. When she announced the most improved I think we were all thinking about Miss Mary Burnett, but then she called about Kayla�s name I got goosebumps!! **am now to just thinking about how proud I am of her!** I need to get her shelves up so she can get her stuff up. I might do that this afternoon before I dive into the book I am getting paid to do, because once I become immersed in it I won�t be doing anything else. My daughter is one of the nicest people I know� and trust me I am not saying that biased� grin.. ok maybe a bit but she is really a cool kid and many have told me that she is. OHH by the way the girls loved their books!! I am thinking I will be making books for the wrestling cheerleaders too!! I am thinking that I may have gotten myself into something here!!! I will probably end up doing the entire varsity and the JV! OYY!!! What have I done!!!!!

I guess since I�m on a bragging roll I might as well gush on more a bout my kids�. About a week ago I went to parent/teacher conferences for Paul. Usually I have already spoke with his major core academic teachers and let them in on his reading situation. I have been tottering on the fence about whether or not I should have him tested for dyslexia. The think with dyslexia is you can�t do anything about your mind has to find a way around it and the only thing that can help that is practice! So I decided to let it go this first 9 weeks and see just how he did. See if he could pass without me saying anything to have adaptations made to his classes. His teachers thus far have all been great when it comes to that sorta thing, all I have to do is mention that there are some things to help out with testing really. I knew his grades weren�t the best but I hung in there and didn�t say a word. I got to his first teacher, math, he told me that Paul worked very very hard never missed a homework assignment and participated very well in class but his test scores seem to be very low. I attribute this to being the reading thing. There is a lot of reading problems in math now. They need to know all sorts of stuff which build on each previous step so if you screw up the first step you well can�t get the following 3 steps. See how that can kill a test grade in a heart beat?? I need to get busy and work on this with him.

I went to the next teacher, and she told me how he knew what he was doing during class and was always happy to demonstrate things for her and answer questions and what not, but she too was surprised when she got his first test back. She was sure he knew it. She was surprised about the reading thing so she will be doing some subtle adaptations like word banks to help him out a bit. He knows what words go in the blank, but has a hard time getting them there.

The same thing went on with the rest of his teachers; they were full of great praise for Paul! They kept telling me that the test grades weren�t due to lack of hard work or laziness! They told me he was great in class and worked really hard on his studying and it showed!! I had on teacher tell me that Paul is not only a great student but has good morals too! All of his teachers said they will give him some help where they can to help him with his test grades. They all also told me that there wasn�t a homework assignment that wasn�t done!!! That boy has worked his butt off and he has showed great responsibility in taking charge of his education! He has been going to his history teacher�s tutoring classes after school while he waits for basket ball practice. I don�t think he needs it but hey he is doing his best to get his test grades up!! I haven�t had to say anything about him doing his homework or anything he just does it!!! I was so proud of him he wanted his Halo 2 game when it came in and I talked his Dad into letting him have it! I felt he deserved it!! Don on the other hand wasn�t happy about it,, and this makes me sad because I feel that he really did deserve it. Had this been another time I would have went out and bought it if he had asked for it!! I wish Don would be as happy about this as I am. I am still on cloud 9 thinking about the things his teachers have said about him. I don�t think I could be prouder!!!

OK now that I have expanded on the virtues and accomplishments of the children it is time for me to blow my own horn a bit�. I have been doing Weight Watchers by myself with just the point system to guide me, and I am happy to say I have lost almost 40 LBS! I got stalled there the month of October, *humm ya think having Halloween candy in the house for a month might have something to do with it??* I got stuck at 230 and couldn�t break it, I bounced between 230 and 235 that whole month. Didn�t lose didn�t gain, so last week I set out to break it!! I counted my points, I drank my water, and I did a bit of exercise, not to be confused with real exercise done on a reg. basis, but on the weekends did some walking and such! It was day before yesterday day I finally did it,,, I weighed in at 229.5 and then yesterday I saw 229.0!! Last night it was 229.5! I just think I am doing so well working hard! Trust me it is hard work! Speaking of work,, yikes,, need to dash!!

Always remember and never forget� hard work pays off!!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!