Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:17 a.m. - Sunday, June 20, 2004
Of Hot Air and Father's!
Picture this�. Blue morning sky, with brilliant sunshine, birds twittering, warm sunshine on your back,, and at first� all you see is one burgundy spot above the trees, as the burgundy spot grows larger a second spot appears over the trees and a third and fourth by now the first spot has developed into a pretty wine colored hot air balloon and the ones following it are an array of rainbow bands and blocks of color. Pretty soon the sky is speckled with pretty bits of color growing larger every min. This was the site I woke to this morning. They didn�t come real close but they were still pretty almost like someone had painted them there in the sky they were moving so slow. The 16th annual Thurtson Classic Balloon Festival is this very weekend. The first year it was held they landed just out side our yard and in the field below our house and many many more flew right over us to land in the fields in the valley below us. It was awesomely cool. Kay was only about 4 or 5 days old when they came. The weather isn�t always good but they do usually get to launch a couple times the weekend they have it. They didn�t go up last night, although the weather did try and clear up it was still to windy on the backside of the fronts that brought us the lovely destructive storms we had the past few days! I was happy to get to see them this morning. It certainly is something to really see the sky filled with these balloons. Over the years we have taken many many photos of these spectacular balloons. If I can find some maybe I�ll post them.

Today is Father�s day and I am thankful for my Dad, he is a good good man, and taught me among other things integrity. I love him and he loves me and we have a wonderful relationship that has blossomed in the past 20 years. Funny how you don�t see your parents as people till you get all grown up with kids of your own. Now I look forward to spending time with him and Mom. They are pretty darn cool people. They have made their share of mistakes and have their regrets but that only makes them human in my eyes which enhances my relationship with them. I am very lucky to have come from such good people. I appreciate them more than they will ever know because it is more than I could ever tell them.

For my husband�s Father�s day we are going to see the Pittsburgh Pirates Play at home, and speaking of which I need to wrap this up and get ready to go! I�m hoping to have a wonderful time with my family. Just the four of us going. Will post details later!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!