Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:41 p.m. - Monday, March 15, 2004
Mental health days are good when threats are made.
Little things like a coffee warmer mean so much. I bought a �candle� warmer about 6 months ago and used it for one candle but it took too long to heat up the candles so I put it on my desk here by the computer and it works really great for a coffee warmer. I have always wanted a coffee warmer I hate to pick up my mug and take a drink of cold coffee. EEWW!!! **unless it is iced coffee that is good.. go figure** The funny thing is, the last time I had seen these same things marketed as coffee warmers were like $6 or 7 a piece. I got this �candle� warmer which is bigger to hold the bigger mugs for $3. At any rate I have been enjoying nice warm coffee. AAAhhh the little pleasures in life.

This weekend has been a good one. My Mom called on Sat afternoon and wanted to know if I would be home to cut her hair. I was delighted to tell her yes and to come on over. I was thrilled that she felt that good. When she got here she was tired and a bit weepy. I�m not she why she is so emotional. I love her so much and I feel horrible that she feels soo badly. She was indeed tired, not sure if it was the benedril or what. Her MRI that she had in the hospital a week or so ago showed improvement with the infection but it isn�t all gone. She is still weak too, I am wondering what they are going to do about the anemia, actually I don�t know if they are doing anything for it. I haven�t even heard what the last blood test showed. Mom says they are taking blood every so often I hope they are watching this closely. I know idiot doctor boy is stupid and doesn�t treat her aggressively enough. OYY� I just hope she gets better very very soon. I did cut her hair very short so she feels better. I think it looks better too.

The next thing in life that has made me do some thinking is a shooting threat at my kids school. I guess it was written on the wall in one of the girls bathrooms. There was a hit list of like 15 people and they said something to the effect that they would begin shooting in 3 weeks. I didn�t find out about this till last Friday AFTER I dropped the kids off at the dance. I guess it was on the news that night. Kay said the principal had been calling the kids down to the office that were on the hit list. Of course the dang school won�t tell anyone anything. I understand their need to keep panic to a min. but I would like to know what the heck they are doing about this and how they plan on stopping it. I think they should have sent home some sort of information about this. It wasn�t clear if something was to happen today or Wednesday. Paul kept asking me am I going to school on Monday. It took me all weekend to make a decision. There was a second message that said something about the time being up and they were going to begin shooting either Monday or Wednesday this week. I am keeping my kids home on Wed. for a mental health day. If the school doesn�t like it they can sue me!

Before I hear from everybody about living in fear and so on and so forth this is how I arrived at that decision. I have tried to live my life in such a way that I don�t want to have any regrets. I make the best decision with the information I have at that particular moment. It won�t hurt my kids if they take a day off they won�t fail they will be just fine, but on the other hand if I send them and something on the outside chance happens I will be forever regretting sending them. So if they are home I did the best thing I could for them at the time. They are my children and I will do what I think is best for them. I am not reacting irrationally and I am not letting fear run my life and what not.. I noticed most people who are willing to say things like that don�t have kids in the schools where stuff is happening. **or being threatened as it were.** I am sure the parents of the Columbine school a few years back wished they had known and possibly had the opportunity to make the decision to keep their kids home. I really don�t think anything is going to happen but, if something did I would never forgive myself. So I think I have made a good decision.

One with other news, we are to get 10 inches or something like that of snow. HUMMM will believe it when I see it. I was hoping this last weekend was the St. Patty�s day snow but guess not. I am looking forward to summer,, spring is too muddy for my liking.

I guess that is the scoop from the last few days since I have been lax about writing. It took a lot for my little brain to make a decision that big. LOL The funny thing is, it is just a day of school. DUH!! OYY!!

I�m off to read some diaries before they turn off all the lights on me.

Always remember and never forget�things are only as big of a deal as one makes them.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!