Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:24 p.m. - Started on Dec. 27 and finished on Dec. 28. 2003
Happy Holidays!!
What a beautiful morning here! The sun is creeping up over the hill and shedding that funny morning light through the very frosty air, the temps are only in the upper teens this morning.

Our Christmas was one of the very best. My husband is such a good man, I know he tells me all the time we don�t have any money and that is good, because when it comes to Christmas he definitely loves me a lot� cause I am thinking I wasn�t quite �THAT� good this year. Let me start from the beginning�

Don and I ran to �the dark side� for chips and buns and to see if they would do something about my digital camera that decided that is only wanted to half work so I was getting those mix and match photos. I thought it was just the card well it wasn�t so I took it back they looked at it made sure everything was there and took it back,, this is the one and only main reason I shop there. So I applied what they would give me on the camera to get a better one. OHHH we went from somewhere near the bottom of the line to one of the very best ones. I got a Minolta digital camera that does everything but make morning coffee! The zoom is fabulous and it has all the different settings for stuff and I can set it manually too.. He was entirely too good to me since this camera cost like 250 more than the original one. He just smiled and said good thing tax time is coming back up.

When I got home the kids and I wrapped the presents to Don, and then got ready for church, met Jill and Gary and his mom and dad at church. Mass was wonderful. Father did a very nice job, a bit long for out time table but I loved it nonetheless. It had begun snowing and got colder while we were in church. I called Don at work, and he told me they would be staying for the duration of snow, since there was a possibility of ice. Since he wouldn�t be coming at all I took off to Joyce�s house. The roads were slippery but not overly bad. Dinner was great and we had a nice time singing carols and opening gifts. The funny thing was that Joyce didn�t have any better luck keeping the game of pictionary any quieter or less rowdy,,, so much for her nice quiet, �more organized� game. HA� ohh well I think that she may not have meant a thing by saying she was going to do them this year because she wanted them more organized, so I will get over it. The rest of the evening was so very nice though.

The roads were horrible on the way home; even though PDOT was out they couldn�t keep ahead of it. What normally would take about 40 min. took me a bit over an hour crawling at 30 to 40 miles an hour. We made it home safe that was all that mattered anyway! We did however, come into a house that hadn�t had a fire in the furnace for ohh about 18 hours, so it was a bit chilly. Guess what I was doing at 12:30 am?? Yep building a fire, and waiting for it get going good enough to bank it for the night. Around 1 am just before Santa came it was only about 68 in here about 5 degrees warmer than when we got home. Being the good momma that I am I stayed up till ohh about 3:30 am and got the fire nice and hot so we wouldn�t get up to a very cold house.

It was 7:30 when a very enthusiastic Paul came running into my bedroom telling me very loudly Merry Christmas Santa came GET UP!!!! He even bounced on my bed and gave me a great big hug! **I don�t think I will have many more years that he will be doing this. After all I was surprised that he, at the age of 13, still did this. One of my favorite way to be awakened on Christmas morning.**

Santa had indeed stocked our tree with lots of wonderful gifts some of which included and X-Box and a few games for Paul, a weight bench and cool clothes for Kay, and some boots and clothes for the hubby boy, and a video camera and scrapbooking punches for me We all must have been very good this year!!! I must say that my kids are always grateful and very appreciative of the gifts they get on Christmas. This makes me very happy and proud.

When we awoke in the morning it wasn�t snowing. Whaa whoo I thought the snow is over and hubby boy can be home with us; alas it wasn�t meant to be since it began snowing about 9:30 and hubby boy was called into work a little after 1, and worked till midnight. That was alright because it was a triple time day, whaa whoo pennies from heaven. He took off Friday the day after Christmas as a personal day so it was all good. The kids and I had a nice quiet day here in our little blue house, alternating between watching Kay�s Pirates of the Caribbean and playing X Box. Kay and I even had a good game of Rummie Kube. What a wonderful wonderful Christmas we had.

The day after Christmas we had a dinner party with Diane and Scott and the girls. It was a great day too. Then yesterday was my sister Sue�s family party where we do the trading gift exchange. It was fun but I was ready to leave about 20 min into it. I still don�t feel like I fit in with all of them. OHH well I went made everybody happy.. whaa whooo whoopty do!

The excitement came when we went to leave, hubby boy gets into the van starts it up and puts it in reverse to back into the driveway and the thing just went dead; nothing no lights, nothing just dead. So he gets out and begins looking under the hood, **there are times when it is rather nice to have a mechanic for a hubby** and started messing with wires and the lights and stuff came on. He now knows that there is a wire that is either not good or has a bad connection. He is out there at this very min. working on it. He is such a good guy!!

Luckily the van did get us back home where we then got the truck and went to our friend�s house. John and Laurie were glad we made it at one point we didn�t think we would. It was a quiet nice visit evening. We exchanged gifts and the kids then immediately took off to go play with their new stuff. I took my new video camera and got some nice footage. I helped Laurie to get used to her new digital camera, I almost bought that one I wish I would have now it was a 100 dollars less and has the same features as mine does, and it would have fit into me camera case too. I am thinking I need to purchase a good camera case one that will hold both cameras and protect them, since they will be traveling to the school for cheering and basketball events. I think this will make hubby boy really happy since he never gets to see them do their thing. I will do my best to capture the good stuff on film to share!

This brings us up to today, my wish for today is to clean up a bit, and then take a very nice snooze then scrapbook the rest of the day, however Kay�s Christmas money is burning a hole in her pocket so she has finagled Laurie and I to take her and Melissa up to the Deb shop and K-Mart. I have ooh about 5 bucks to may name and want to put some gas in Laurie�s van cause it is our idea to go shopping but our van is out of commission and we all know that taking the truck is NOT and option!

This has been a tiring but wonderful holy season! I hope everybody else had a wonderful Holiday season too!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!