Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:46 a.m. - Sunday, December 21, 2003
A whole new meaning to Jenga!
Sunday morning is here again, wow times flies when you aren�t getting done what you want to get done. 3 days till Christmas eve, boy is it coming up fast. I am hoping that we don�t get the rain that is forecasted for this week, YUCK, with the amount of snow we have now it would make it not very pretty out there for the holiday. I guess now they are saying snow and rain mixed instead of just rain; which is a good thing. We got something like over a foot of snow in the last 2 days. I don�t ever recall getting this much lake effect snow here. Something must be different in the weather patterns this year. Usually they forecast it and we get about a third of what they call for. I get all excited about getting lots of snow and then it doesn�t happen, but these last two storms have really done me proud! Heck if it is going to be cold and snowy heck make it a lot of snowy! Pennies from heaven we say. **I know all the Pdot workers don�t say that but still for us it is**

It is getting pretty darn cold here at night, like temps in the upper teens, brrrr; which is why I am keeping the fire stoked. Fixing the fire requires some finesse. Does anyone remember the game Jinga? The game where there are these 2 in by � in by 3/8 in high wooden blocks all stacked into a tower. Now the object of this game is to removed the loose blocks that are through out the tower without making it fall down. What does this have to do with fixing the fire?? Well we don�t stack our wood in the basement, we just throw it in the window and make this giant pile that fills about a 1/3 of the basement. **I�m getting there..** When I go to take a piece of fire wood to put in the stove I am faced with the Jinga challenge. You see I can�t just take the wood off the top of the pile because it is piled clear to the ceiling and I can�t reach that high so I need to remove a piece of wood that is loose and not going to pull the whole wood pile down on me. This gives whole new meaning to the jinga game. Kinda like the wizards chess match in the Harry Potter movie! I like my toes in tacked and unbroken or bruised thank you very much! Such is the fun at my house!

I was all set to get up and head off to church this morning but my poor son woke up with a stomach ache. His buddy started getting sick last Thursday, and he started out with a stomach ache. Poor kid, now I am wondering if my son has what he has, they did spend last Thursday together. I don�t know about the rest of you parents out there but I am sorta leery about these flues that are going around so I try to keep my kids healthy but that has been hard this December. So yet again we shall miss church, I just want everyone to be healthy for Christmas eve.

Today is Christmas dinner at my mother in law�s next door, but if Paul doesn�t feel well all better by then I think we *he and I* will just go over for dinner and come back I don�t want him too close to my brother in law, who by the way has been doing very well for what doctors though would be a dead man about now. He sure is fighting the good fight! I am hoping that after the holidays when he gets his cancer test done again he will be free of it. It has worked it�s way to the top, lets hope and pray that it will be gone from there.

I am taking mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes casserole, and pumpkin roll, all of which need to be made, **well just the filling for the pumpkin rolls** So I had best get busy!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!