Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:31 a.m. - Sunday, Dec. 7, 2003
Busy time of the year.
It�s Sunday morning and I can�t believe I haven�t written since Thursday morning. A lot has been happening since then. I worked on and off all day Thursday, went to Paul�s game, which lasted all of 25 min. with the team having 30 some kids Paul never got to play. I doubt he will play more than 2 or 3 times this whole year. I feel bad, but as I keep telling him most of these other kids have been playing basketball for at least 3 or 4 yr. by the time they hit 7 & 8 grade. This is his first year. I�m glad that he isn�t letting that intimidate him he just keeps going to practice and working his butt off. He says its fun, and I am happy for him. That was pretty much Thursday, I was feeling better and so I quit taking my antibiotics since I noticed my stomach was getting a bit irritated.

Friday rolled around with a vengeance. Remember the comment on how the forecast didn�t sound bad but right beside it there was a bad weather advisory posted? Well, they weren�t kidding however most people didn�t pay any attention to it, and didn�t cancel anything after school. The roads were a mess and Paul still had practice without him though I wasn�t going out in that mess. I called Don and asked him how things were he said they couldn�t keep ahead of it that he was happy I told Paul to come home on the bus. He was worried about getting Kay home though. She had a match that night. The weather was horrible when I tried to go get her.

We managed to get about 8- 10 in of snow in the driveway by the time I needed to get Kay. I managed to get out of the driveway on the third try. This was after I had slid down the driveway backwards and at times sideways. Here is a photo of the top of my drive it was these nice pine trees that kept me in the drive.

Alright so it was really only one of them on the far side of the drive that I managed to slide into, I think I dented it. I never thought I was going to get out, but I managed it. I am thinking now that Don will be working evenings I will buy a 4 X 4 as soon as we can afford it; which will probably be about the time Paul graduates and I won�t be running around after the kids in the evening. Then in that case I won�t need it. Just the way things go for me. That was a traumatic thing. I did make it to the school and got Kay and her friends Kristen and Kayla.

These friends are twins and their parents asked me if I would help out with their surprise party yesterday afternoon, to which I gladly said sure. It was my job to get them there. They were all beat when they got home so they watched some tv, ate some pop corn and headed off to bed a bit before midnight. I let them sleep late and we got off to a slow start but made it to �the darkside� to get some stuff I needed and their presents. I called and told them I was leaving there and they said stall them a bit. I wanted to stop at Jo-Anne�s fabric store anyways! I was very very glad I did, I got that artificial evergreen garland for $1.79 a 9 ft piece. This isn�t the very nicest garland you can buy but hey at least I am decorating with a bit more class. If I ever get it up.

I got the girls into the party and a good time was had by all I think. We came home and I felt a bit tired then realized that my throat was heading for a full blown sore throat so I took I went back on my antibiotics. **I know I was stupid in the first place for going off.** It is much better this morning. I have so much to do today, I don�t even want to think of it.

This morning after church we have this meet and greet the new families in our parish which is very bad timing, we need to get our Christmas tree, and hubby boy wants to get the fuel pump in my van. I have finally talked Kay into getting her hair permed so now she wants that done to. I want to do it too. Then she has CCD tonight. I am thinking that I might just keep her home this evening, just because I want to spend the time with her. I am seriously thinking about that. I couldn�t believe that one of her �friends� said to her, �even if she (kay) did go to this church and CCD you won�t ever fit in here.� I felt so bad for her. I don�t understand why this girl would say something so mean to her. I really will probably end up back at our old church when the kids are done with confirmation. **this will be in 4years, then maybe the priest will have moved on that I don�t like.** I know this sounds not very Christian like but the whole money issued just burns my bottom. Every time I turn around this new church is sending me tickets to sell for something. I feel that I don�t have the money to buy them and I am not going to be asking my family and friends who don�t have much more than I do to buy them either. Just because they didn�t like something in the church and decided that they needed to rip it all out and get new. Sigh, I like keeping religion and what not close to my heart and I don�t need a fancy church or anything of the sort to do that. I also like to keep a very low profile. It doesn�t happen in this church. Funny everybody thinks Laurie is the shy one, heh when it comes to church I like to be left in peace. OHH well.. I guess that is just part of my charm.

Well I am off to be ready for church and my very busy day!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!