Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:36 a.m. - Late Saturday night 9-13-03
Anniversaries Remembered
I am going to actually have a theme entry, well one with a point anyway. I usually just ramble on with much ado about nothing. However this month is a month with some dates I that I thought about remarking on but was too busy to sit down and do it, so they passed but they didn�t pass totally unnoticed.

The first date is the anniversary of my very first posting at Diaryland. I can�t believe that I have stuck to this for this long. I am very good at starting something and then not keeping with it.

My interest in writing has been around for a very long time, since about the time I became interested in the school newspaper in my 9th grade year in high school. I�m not sure why I signed up for it but I did it as an activity during activity period and then evolved into the club I most enjoyed and became managing editor in my jr. Year. I enjoyed it soo very much. I was a co-editor but the other girl was to busy to actually help. I didn�t care because I loved it. I can recall many great times along with the hard work. I got to know Diane who is David�s sister and we are close to this day.

What surprises me about my love of writing was that I had a hard time learning to read. It was horrible I struggled terribly, which was probably due to the fact that I have mild dyslexia, which affects how I see words and telling my right from my left. I still have to really think about the right and left thing. I am glad that I was made to keep working on it because I might never have developed my love of writing and reading that I have now. Although I must admit that I hardly ever read the newspaper because of the poor quality of writing and lack of facts. Other than writing the articles one of my very favorite parts of the high school paper was the laying out of the pasted strips of text. It was like a giant puzzle. I had a lot of fun choosing the fonts and sizes of the headlines. Every Monday night Diane and I would roll up our sleeves and work for about 3 hours on it to get it just right. OK so we did goof around a little bit, but we did work hard on it.

I guess I should have thrown a party to celebrate my second birthday. I doubt anyone would have really got the significance of it, but I know I have come along way from the frustrated struggling child I once was.

However the second anniversary is worth remembering but very little to celebrate about, the obvious one that I am sure most have posted something in their diaries/journals which I missed the day but I was thinking about it nonetheless. **like I could have not heard any of the special memorials that were held on the 11th**

I often think about my icq buddy who was a survivor from the second tower, she told which one east or west but I can�t remember it was the second to be hit. She was on the 55th floor, and thanks to a couple of her friends/coworkers thinking the first tower was going to fall like a tree they got out in time. The horrifying tale she told me had to be life changing. I know she has moved out of the city and is now pregnant and happy finally. Just recalling some of the conversations we had on the phone in the weeks following the attack blows my mind how she survived the emotional turmoil. She lost one of her good friends who was 7 month pregnant and many others. Work was her main life focus and those she worked with. I have thought about her a lot this week. I hope she is doing well since she is happy she isn�t online as much as she used to be. Which is a good thing.

I can�t say I�m any happier today than I was last year about how things are going with that whole situation. I don�t think that our young men should be still over there dying. Although I don�t pretend to keep up on the current status of things over there. I am just sad that our young men are being sent to die just like those pilots who hijacked those planes as a means to an end for someone else. My heart hurts for those families, and those families who have loved ones over there who worry every day that they might get the "call." I wish there was a peaceful solution to these problems.

As Forrest would say, "and that is all I have to say about that."

One other date to remember would be the 4th of September, the day Mom came home from the hospital. I have officially had over a year with her that I might not have had if things would have went differently. So that is one to celebrate. Out of the 3 anniversaries in the first part of Sept. 2 are ones to be joyful about. Not to bad. Of course everyday should be a celebration of life, I would hope.

I have just taken a few min. to read what I was writing on these days the last two years. One of the things I had forgotten about was last year at this time the docs had given my bro in law Dave 6 mo to a year. He is still hanging in there and has a decent quality of life from what I can tell. Although he can�t drive anymore, and I am sure there is quite a bit to his care of his feeding tube and such. He is happy with his new computer I got all set up for him. I hope that it brings him many hours of joy. I called him today to see if he got what he was working on the other day when he called taken care of but he wasn�t home so I�ll check with him tomorrow to see if he wants me to drop by morning time and give him some lessons. I need to meet Mom in town about 11 so I could go down about 9 or so if he wants me too. I think he got SoBig in his old computer it kept shutting down and it didn�t dawn on me till I was there putting his new one in. He is giving it to his daughter so I told him to tell her that who ever is going to work on it to look for it.

This is really cool to be able to look back and see where I was 2 yr ago. Wow I hope I can keep writing since I think it would be a neat thing to look back on when I am too old and feeble to do anything else lets just hope that I still have my sight!


Wow have I managed to ramble on. I wanted to share a photo but didn�t get it uploaded today of what I am doing with all these rocks that I am collecting. I think I should just take myself off to bed since I am really tired and I�ll fill in everything I did today after the first entry tomorrow. Since it is Sunday and I will be able to have some alone time in the morning. Whaa whoo!! OHH and we are off to buy a new dryer tomorrow! That will be so wonderful!!


Always remember and never forget�a neglected pool becomes a green pool! Ewww!! **thank goodness it isn�t mine**

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!