Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:43 a.m. - Sunday, January 19, 2008
Ahh Such is Life!
I wouldn�t feel nearly as daunted if I were to actually keep up my diary. I have sat down and written the first couple paragraphs and then got interrupted and never went back to them.

You know how most people say well I�ll do this or that when things slow down here after the holidays or whatever season or events are currently going on. I kept saying this and well it seems I�ve been saying it for years now. There is always something going on that I haven�t been getting to write. This makes me sorta bummed mostly for the fact that these events are most good and I would�ve liked to have their story told or they were difficult and writing about them would have been good for my soul, but unfortunately I have just let it slide and fall to the wayside, so I am going to begin again and try to write on a reg. basis.

Today Jan. 20 2008. Now everyone remembers I am a procrastinator, I am a very good one and I can�t seem to change it, I guess it is apart of me! Trust me it will explain a lot of my stress the past few months.

The last time I wrote I was talking about change and the changes happening then. Well it seems that entry sparked a stay in the hospital for my Mom thanks to pneumonia and they found a fungal infection in her lungs too. She was there for 6 days and it seemed to help her immensely as she seemed to get stronger and better for the couple three weeks afterwards then she went down hill again began coughing and not feeling well again in the last couple weeks.

In the mean time from the beginning of Nov. my mother in law had been having trouble with her digestive track mostly not being able to have a bowl movement. She was down to eating hardly anything and we urged her to go to the doc which she did on the 5th of Dec. to which the doc put her on antibiotic for a urinary track infection. One of 2 things happened there either she didn�t tell him she couldn�t have a bm, she just said she couldn�t go and he thought UTI or he didn�t take the time to check it out. He didn�t do a darn thing for her so on the 16th of Dec. Don goes to get the paper and mail for her and she was so sick he took her to the ER. Long story short her bowl was strangulated and they tubed her and emptied her stomach which made her feel a bit better and surgery followed on that Tue. the 18th. Unfortunately they weren�t able to prepare her for the surgery and she ended up with a colostomy. She did well through the surgery however they gave her morphine and it wacked her out so bad it added 2 weeks to her recovery. Poor thing was out of her head. During this 3 week period I was running to the hospital and trying to get everything done for Christmas. Needless to say lots of stuff didn�t get done, like my cards, some of my baking, and the hand made gifts I was making for my friends. MIL was still out of her mind Christmas and I spend the night with her just to try and get her to sleep because she hadn�t slept for like 2 days. She didn�t sleep well she was awake and when she was sleeping she was so busy talking and doing things she didn�t get any rest. I kept telling the nurses that she needed more IV fluids to clear the drugs but the darn doc wouldn�t give her any, till finally the morning of her CAT scan, since the idiot thought maybe she had a stroke to account for her mental state, but that seemed to do the trick she finally got some sleep and did alright from there on. When she was out of her mind she was paranoid and wouldn�t eat hardly anything or drink anything she thought they were putting something in it. Poor thing.

She is doing fine now and is home except she is having visiting nurses come and help her with her colostomy and she has a cold. She is getting stronger and is doing stuff around her house. This is great I�m hoping we can get her back on her feet by spring and running the roads again because at 82 if you don�t move it you lose it! Don and I are the only ones she has to care for her so we are spending time helping her out. I am making sure she has stuff to eat and have been going over every so often and having dinner with her. I don�t want her to get depressed. That is what has been going on there.

Now about a week or so ago my mom began heading down hill coughing and not feeling well and feeling week and getting the shakes. So off to the doc we went last Thurs. and he thinks she has gotten the fungal infection in her lungs back. I just want her to get back to where she was a week after her hospital stay. She was doing so much better and she sounded better and had a decent frame of mind but she is was getting depressed and whatnot. Poor Momma. I�m hoping that the medicine they put her on will help her out!

Those are my geriatric people I also have a geriatric dog who stinks incredibly bad! So I call the vet and they tell me it is going to be about $100 to get her seen and figure out what is wrong with her. I can�t ignore her condition any longer so I will take her and see what he says. OYY!!

The holidays were nice in spite of my MIL illness. Kay�s boyfriend from Philly came to surprise her for the New Year and it was great. He is a great kid, so I don�t mind if he comes home with her on weekends. He is here this weekend. We got the kids because it�s a 3 day weekend for them.

Now in the midst of all this my insurance company says they won�t fill my happy pills because there are other generics they feel that are fine, well� I have been taking the new ones for a month or so now and to be honest I liked my other ones better. I still feel antsy and stretched at times.

So pretty much my life has been catching up what I didn�t get done over the holidays, getting some unfinished scrapbooking projects done, and taking care of the old folks. Mostly this week and next doing doctors appointments. OHH and I�ve also been working in the beauty shop too!

Some days I am so sick of feeling like I can�t get caught up! OYY!

So that has been my life for the last couple months, and most likely the next couple to come. So I will say again,,, hopefully I�ll journal more when things aren�t so busy�Like that ever happens so I�ll just do my best to post more often!

Always Remember and Never Forget� Life is what happens while doing mundane things!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!