Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:57 p.m. - Sat., Aug. 25, 2007
All good things must come to an end! :(
We bid a fond farewell to out county fair for 2007. We attended the fair on Sat. Aug. 18, and Sunday Aug. 19 but Monday was a very rainy day and we opted to just hang out here at home. Tue. was a fairly nice but I realized that Nite needed to see a vet about a lump on her head; which had been getting bigger and bigger for a few days. I found a vet to see her that afternoon and she ended up having surgery on her head to open the abscess and clean it out so I had to leave her there and go back and get her. In all this I forgot that Tue. was a big show day for the kids at the fair which I totally forgot and missed. My niece�s Bree and Casey were both showing their horses and I missed it all. Bummer!

This week wasn�t a good week for my left foot either. Monday evening it had begun to hurt and by the time Tue. rolled around and I went up to the fair briefly to grab a quick bite before heading down to get Nite at the vet�s office I thought I was in agony. I had to walk quite a ways to get to the van and it hurt so bad, when I got home with the dog I just plopped my considerable backside in the recliner and kept off my foot for the rest of the evening and even took a nap. I hurt so bad I was ready to take myself into see the doctor I figured I must have gotten a stress fracture or something because it hurt sooo very bad. Kayla said it sounded like a pinched nerve. I got up Wed and it still hurt pretty bad so I goofed off and stayed off it and didn�t go to the fair. On Thurs. morning I got up it still hurt to put any weight on it so I decided to call the doc after I got my shower and whatnot. I got my shower and was getting ready for work which I had no idea how I was going to get through a whole morning of work and an afternoon of running mom to her doc appointment with this pain. As I was getting ready for work it �popped� or �cracked� not that it hurt just like a normal thing in my foot. I didn�t really pay any attention to it and I put my shoes on and went down to work! I kept thinking as clients one and two were done when it was going to begin to really hurt, but it didn�t as a matter of fact the longer I worked the less it hurt. So by the time came to meet mom and head off to her appointment I was really not overly bothered by it any more. Go Figure. It has been a little achy when I make circles with my toes but as for moving it up and down it is fine and very little pain.

I was able to attend the fair on Thurs. evening and then on Friday evening and had no problem whatsoever helping Kay get back and settled in to her room at school and hiking across campus a few times! We also as a tradition headed up to the fair to watch the demolition derby. It was a great derby a car rolled on it�s side, they red flagged, the driver jumped out and with the help of a couple of the officials rolled the car back over. Too bad he couldn�t have continued but I think that the roll disqualified him. But it was too funny to see them tip it back on its wheels! The phrase of the evening was �I�m so impressed!� I kept using it sarcastically when they would do something stupid or the firemen would mosey and I do mean not put forth any effort to hurry when going out to extinguish a fire in a car.

All and All it was a great fair week. I�m a bit sad this evening as my friend Tony who�s parents own a dime pitch and a few other games, probably won�t be coming back next year. She has gotten a teaching position in a school that begins the middle of our fair week so she will probably go back to FL after the fair before ours so I won�t see her shining face any more. We have been fair friends for many many years. I want to say somewhere in the ball park of 14 or 15 years. I spent some really great times pitching dimes and getting to know her and her kids. She has wanted to be a teacher for so long and has been attending college to get her masters degree. She is a great lady to have done that all. Wife, mother, and carnival worker for her parents all summer long. I guess all good thing must come to an end. When I told her good bye this evening I got her snail mail address so that I can write to her and give her a copy of a photo I had Don take of us together this year. I might make her a nice little keepsake book for her to remember me by.

I�m quite proud of myself to be honest I only got a bit misty when I told Tony good-bye, I�m sorta glad she was busy because it wasn�t long and drawn out! But it was like a second bummer of the day first Kay has gone back to school and now Tony won�t be back next year. Life changes and moves on, they way it should be. I guess.

Enough lamenting for tonight I�m tired as I was up really late looking for Kay�s school ID. She had it on her bedside table and when she was packing she was looking for it. After tearing her room apart and looking for about an hour or so I asked her to think where she had it last, **we were beginning to panic, a new one cost $25** and she said on the table and I asked her where her garbage was and she said next to it. Well luckily she never burns her trash because when I went through it in the very bottom was laying there like a sad little orphan was her Pitt strap and her ID!!! YAY!!! So needless to say she didn�t get much sleep and neither did I.

I�m off to bed!!!

Always Remember and Never Forget� sometimes growing pains are worse than foot pains!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!