Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:59 p.m. - Wed., Nov. 29, 2006
What a great day!!!!!
I don�t want to go to bed because it will mean putting an end to a very great day! I got up today and went and met Mom to go to the lab for blood work then breakfast then a docs appointment at 11:30. I don�t think I mentioned that the doctors office called and I told them about her going to Pitts with the infection then they told me they wanted more blood work and an MRI of Mom�s head and pituitary glad and that they would be scheduling it. They called back and said they could get her in Wed. (today) at 12:30 after her docs appointment. We had done some baseline blood work about the 13th and he hadn�t gotten the results back yet. So when he got back from the holiday on Monday he got the information from the hospitals and lab. She has been telling him for the last 3 or 4 years that she is too tired and he didn�t really do much for her for that. Sorta like well you�re old and these things happen attitude; even after she was in the hospital for her sodium about 3 yr. ago. Why didn�t he do these tests then???? I don�t have a lot of faith in the guy, I don�t think he is a very good doc, but he is young and I guess they have to learn sometime, but sheesh!! Mom loves him that is why she stuck with him. He said he knows why she is so tired and why she can�t keep any sodium. This made us extremely happy!!! Here her baseline blood tests to see if her adrenal gland was working showed she had no cortisol. It is really complicated but cortisol is secreted by the adrenal gland, and cortisol is very important in many ways, it retains the sodium which if it gets to low it can be fatal, it helps with many other things but I am getting to tired to think of them right now. The short and long of it is he is not looking into seeing why she doesn�t have any of it. He is checking to see if it is the hormone ACTCH that is secreted from the brain to the adrenal gland to tell it to release cortisol or if it actually the adrenal gland itself. Hence the head and pituitary glad MRI.

So we got tons of blood work done this morning and then had a great breakfast, went to the doc and learned all this, then it was off to the MRI, then back to the same restaurant we ate breakfast at for lunch to end out busy day. She managed to get all her tests done today!!! Just in time for winter come blowing in here this weekend. The scary thing is this condition can potentially be life threatening if not treated correctly, but the flip side is she can take cortisol tablets and it will fix it. So troubling problem with an easy fix!!! She is so happy to think she will be feeling better. I am so happy I could dance!!! Mom will be awake for Christmas!!! I can�t begin to say how happy this makes me!! It gets frustrating when the mind is willing but the body isn�t and that has been her cross to bear for the last few years.

So that was a great part of the day, but it gets better!! I was home around 3 which was wonderful since I had a CTMH party here tonight which needed setting up. I was so happy I called my sister Jill to tell her, and while I was talking to her I told her about what Sue said and then asked her if she knew what I did to tick Joyce off and if she had said anything about it to her. Jill said �no she hadn�t heard anything,� but that Joyce was super stressed with our Aunt Jane living with her. While we were talking who beeps in but Joyce. So I called her back when I was done talking to Jill and told her all about the good news and then point blank asked her if I did something to upset her and make her have a problem with me, she said no and if there was she talk to me about it. So I guess even though she has been very sharp and snippy with me she isn't mad at me and is looking forward to see me at Christmas!! So this made me extremely happy too!! She also told me that Sue has told everyone at sometime she doesn't need anyone but her husband and kids. So maybe it isn't so personal with me and she is just screwed up big time!

The great day didn�t end there the lady who hosted the party tonight didn�t do too bad with her party sales. I think everyone had a good time and I made a bit of money too!!! So I have had a banner day!! Now I�m tired and thinking I can�t wait to hit the hay!!

Always Remember and Never Forget�You might be in a redneck grocery store if the girl checking out groceries is wearing and apron with not only her name embroidered on it but �Get - Er - Done� too!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!