Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 a.m. - Monday, July 17, 2006
College Orientation
Having a child leave for college isn�t a horrible thing, it is rather a wonderful thing, at least that is what I keep telling myself. We had a 2 day orientation out at the college this past week. They did a good job making me feel a warm and fuzzy that she will be safe and happy there. HUMMM wonder how many PR people it took to orchestrate this? I hope that it is what they say it is. I do think that it is a very quiet there because my nephews went there and they said it was boring and there was nothing to do. Well from what they showed us and what not there is lots to do. There is a public bus that comes through campus that the kids can get a lift out to Wally World and into town to the movies. I think maybe the weekends will be a bit boring but then again it will be what they make of it! The campus is beautiful most of the buildings are either new or renovated. Very very nice place. Well for close to $19,000 a year it had better be nice! I have to get her lap top ordered still haven�t done that yet. I will also need to get anti spyware programs on it in addition to getting her messenger set up so that we can chat on a regular basis. I don�t want her to leave even though I know it is part of the growing process; and here to I thought I was done with growing pains. Imagine that. I hope she likes college. I know that the first semester will be the hardest because there is so much transition going on. I know this because they told us at out handy dandy orientation. They also told us it isn�t a good thing to bring them home before 4 weeks is up. I don�t think that Kay will have that much of a problem and if she wants or needs to come home I am going to get her. Ok now I�m beginning to dwell. I think I might be more homesick for her than her for me.

Other exciting news in my home is I finally got hubby boy to put in my air conditioner. It had to take threats of 90 to get him to put it in. I wasn�t the most happy camper but at least now it is in and he hates it and too bad for him he can go outside and sweat for all I care. I stayed in all day yesterday because I got just a bit of sun poisoning from Friday and Sat. and I wasn�t going to make it worse by going out yesterday. I can�t believe how fast the last few days have flown by. It is already Monday and where did the weekend go? Today I�m headed to Erie to get supplies and take mom to go buy pants for Dad to wear to the upcoming weddings this fall. He says he doesn�t want her to but she is going to anyway! I just like spending time with my mom!

The sad thing going on is that hubby boy�s uncle will probably not last till Christmas. The docs haven�t said anything but they went into remove something in his bowel and found cancer tumors in his liver. I know his brother fought it and it bought him some time but I don�t think Uncle Jr. has that in him. He is in his late 70�s early 80�s and is diabetic and doesn�t eat good to begin with. I feel really bad for him and my mother in law.

The great thing is that I have 3 or 4 parties scheduled for my Close to my Heart and hopefully it will make me enough to get my third and final goal for my free $150 in stuff!! I want to get some stuff and take it to the flea market and see if I can�t sell some! I also think if I have it on hand I might be able to sell it outright.

Well I�m off to get ready!!

Always Remember and Never Forget�one can�t take photos with the lens cap on.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!