Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:59 a.m. - Sunday, Aug. 28, 2005
Mandatory food!
I think Sunday mornings have to be my very favorite time of the whole week. Hubby boy goes over to his mom�s and the kids sleep in since they are busy people now, which leave me with this pleasant window of time in the morning that is quiet and serine.

Fair week is over. The 60th annual Crawford County Fair was a lot of fun this year, very different for me but fun nonetheless. The kids I used to watch show and help get ready to show have all grown up into fine young people who can do their own hair and get themselves and their animals ready so I�m not really needed, and I had cheering practice every morning and hair to do in the shop a few afternoons. I didn�t spend nearly as much time up there this year that I have in the past. I asked my hubby boy what we did when the kids were little before I got into friends with their kids, because we used to take our little kids up to the fair ohh almost every day and spend the whole day there. I for the life of me can�t remember what we did all that time. Hubby boy and I had had about enough the third time we walked around up there. I got in all the mandatory fair food though. The first night I had a bite of Kay�s taffy and a hamburger at E. Mead our favorite stand. I�m not sure if I had my funnel cake that day or not. I hadn�t ever had a funnel cake till now. All it is, is pancake batter drizzled into a round form in a fryer I am thinking. Glorified pancake with powdered sugar. I wasn�t overly impressed and will probably not put it on the mandatory list for next year. What I did have this year that will remain on the mandatory list are� Grandpa�s Garbage Fries, curly fries/chips, elephant ear cinnamon/sugar, waffles, and a Barrette�s caramel apple with Reese�s pieces; oh and an apple dumpling, I almost forgot that. They weren�t nearly as good as they have been in the past this year, but I hear that another place has better ones that I will try out next year. That was the first food on this mandatory list. I always get my caramel apple on the next to the last day or last day. There are a couple things we do every year up there on of which is attending the demolition derby on the last night which was last night (Sat.). This has become an annual event for hubby boy to get everyone�s tickets because I used to go sit and wait for them to go on sale and I would get a bunch then go pick our seats but with the new grandstand they have changed that. You can�t pick your seats they give you the best seats available and you have to deal with it. Although they did give us a block which consisted of seats 1 thru 8 or so in 3 rows together so we weren�t just strung out all across one row. So it was all good. Hubby boy, and Paul met niece Becky up there and waited in line for an hour to get them. They could only buy 10 per person, and we had orders for ohh something like 20. What annoys me is that nobody else but my nieces have told hubby boy they would go up and wait with him. There is no excuse for them not to go get their own damn tickets, but hubby boy is a good guy and will do this so he goes. I don�t have anything to do with it because I would mess things up, so when people call I tell them they have to talk to hubby boy that I have nothing to do with it. I hope that doesn�t come off rude but you know they are so taking advantage of him. OHH well I got to sit by my brother in law who had cancer and well quite frankly we don�t know from one year to the next if he will be with us. I liked sitting next to him. I have to call him and let him know the car we picked won the whole derby not just that heat. It rained rather hard on us and thanks to the great seats we got soaked but they left after the second heat. He was really tired from going down to his wife�s mom�s, about a 6 hr drive. Why his wife always picks the week of the fair to do this crap I will never know. It ticks most of his family off because he is so tired but will push himself to come to the derby. I think it is a pride thing. Last year she did this to him. He needs to keep his strength up in order to just live. Well I guess it is none of my business though. OHH well. It was great sitting next to him and seeing him there. I was happy to have that time with him. It was a good derby too.

I have so much to do today. We haven�t done any school shopping since we usually just pick up a few things here and there and such. Paul needs some new jeans and a few shirts but I told him he wasn�t getting anything new till he went through what he had and made sure he got rid of the stuff he can�t wear so we know what he has and what he needs. Kay is pretty good about that sort of thing. She already did it about 3 weeks ago and said she only needs like another pr of jeans. She bought most of her stuff shopping at Kohl�s here and there over the summer. So she is set almost. They both need shoes for school though. Paul is so hard on shoes. So in addition to going school shopping I need to get the names done for the cheerleaders and that will take a major chunk of time, I also need to get work done on the Wall of Fame for school sports that the cheerleaders are doing. I told Kay I would help her with the bricks. I have the perfect sponge to make them. They look sooo cool. I did just a few, but we need to get this done before next week. We want it up by the end of this week. Our first football game is Friday. OYY!! Fall is here already. Well I have better get moving or I won�t get this stuff done.

Always remember and never forget�it is easier to buy new clothes than to do laundry!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!