Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 a.m. - Friday, June 17, 2005
MMMM Free Lunches!
I have decided that my parents are really great people. Well they had me and what could make them greater??! Dad had to go to Erie yesterday for his first post-op appt. which went extremely well. We had to wait a hundred years to get in but once we were seen the doc said that the pressure was 20 it had been at 60 before the surgery, so 20 isn�t tooo bad but not good, then he looked in it and applied some pressure to the eyeball and brought the pressure down to 12 which is way good for him. The surgery put a hole in his eyeball with 2 sutures. The body will want to heal this shut which would put us right back to where we were with the high pressure and that kills off the nerves which will make him blind. This �drain� he put in seems to be working because there was a blister, for lack of technical term, on the top of his eye; which is what they want to see. The body can absorb the fluid from there since it can�t do it out of the eyeball because of the glaucoma. I hope this makes sense. The shorten version is for now the drain is working however he really can�t see all that well out of that eye. I was there while they tested his vision in that eye and he couldn�t get past the 3rd line, from the giant E at the top. This is scary, I didn�t ask the doc if he could regain any of that sight or not. I am thinking it might get a little bit better but this drain is a prevention not solution. He did much better with his other eye though so that is good.

As we were leaving Dad was joking about looking forward to having a Seeing Eye dog so that he could harness him/her to pull his wheel chair! I told him not this week. Mom says no dogs in the house.. hahaha.

I think sometimes I�m a horrible daughter, I should spend more time with my parents because Dad is 83 and Mom just turned 80 they aren�t going to live forever and it scares me to think about losing them. It is like when I say I�m going out to visit I have things come up and apparently I think are more important than that because I say ohh I�ll just go tomorrow or later in the week, and never go. It is a sad thing that Dad has to have doctor�s appointments before I go and spend time with them. He says he understands and that he had young kids once and it is a time consuming thing. Mom says she understands too but is this going to comfort me when they are gone? I highly doubt it. So for now I will make time and go with him to all these appt. and continue to joke about getting a free meal whenever we go but the truth of the matter is I would go if we didn�t go out to eat just to be able to spend the time with them. Heck I would go if I had to buy my own meal, and theirs, we would however be eating at much cheaper restaurants! I guess I�m selfish because I like to have them all to myself without the complications of my older siblings around. I guess Joyce wants to put together a little Father�s Day party out there which will be just fine. I�ll just not hang out with those I don�t want to. I wish I didn�t feel this way about my older sisters.

I have observed something that scares the begeebes out of me. My sister Sue is cynical and self centered and my sister Joyce�s personality had changed or maybe it hasn�t I have just noticed it now **she has been a bit odd always though** but I want to say when I was younger they were more fun and nicer people, however I know Sue doesn�t like me and that is just fine with me. She only ever wants to invite me or get in touch with me when she has the whole family for Xmas. Like it matters if I attend. Hurmph! She used to come out and get her hair done but she doesn�t even have time for that so I just don�t see the reason to buddy buddy with her she is too busy anyway. Joyce, well I think she likes me but only likes me in small doses when others are around. I can�t believe my personality is that strong that she doesn�t like to visit with me without being at a group gathering. OHH well, such is life I just hope to God I don�t change and become like them so self absorbed that they can�t be nice to their siblings. **oops guess that was a tangent.**

Well I need to get some stuff done before I start in the beauty shop this morning.

Always remember and never forget�Free meals are good but sharing them with my parents if GREAT!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!