Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:18 p.m. - Thurs. June 16, 2005
Is that 88 or 8B?
So I took the old folks to Pittsburg to have Dad�s eye operated on. My parents crack me up! They are just so funny, when they aren�t arguing and chewing at each other. Anyhow, I had to meet them at 4:15 am in order to get to the hospital about an hour and 20 min early. This is alright had we had any trouble we would have had time to still make it. About daybreak Dad begins to read these driving instructions to me since I haven�t ever been to this hospital. I was just pretty much listening to the exit numbers since I had a pretty good idea about how to get there thanks to a client in the shop. He said it was way easier than Presby which is the one Mom was in 3 years ago. So I�m driving along and he tells me the first exit number off of 79 to 279 which I knew already, then he tells me to look for Exit 88 so I note the next exit number is 15. Wow that would make 73 exits in about ohh say 3 miles at the very most. I guess giving the blind guy the map to read isn�t a very good idea. **ok so he isn�t blind but he has glaucoma and this surgery is to stop him from going blind.** But it sounds good.. hehe. Anyhow I�m thinking well what�s his face in the shop said to get on at East Street exit, so I figured I would just look for that. Just before the signs started appearing Dad figured it out that is was 8B not 88. OHH my gosh we had such a good laugh over that! Then the signs started saying 8B East Street. It was rather funny.

So we make it to the hospital and it is very confusing. I would think like most hospital�s it would have a sign saying� OUT PATIENT PARKING, RESTRICTED AUTHORIZED PARKING ONLY signs where you are to park. All it said was the Authorized Parking it didn�t say a dang thing about Outpatients. So of course we went to the wrong parking garage, figured out how to get into the hospital, which I guess it�s an old age thing but I couldn�t figure out where the hospital was while in the parking garage. The directions said walk towards the hospital and down some steps and into the hospital. Alright, but what direction is the hospital? We ask some other people who were more observant that I was and they said they weren�t sure either but at least they knew which way the hospital was. We get in there and the lady says we are in the wrong place to go back out and down to the restricted parking. Alright maybe I�m daft but doesn�t restricted mean not just anyone can park there? It is usually restricted to personal if it isn�t marked who it is for right?? OYY!! Anyhow we get there and get parked and get into the hospital and only like an hour and a half early. So we get registered and then finally get called to go back. I asked them/Dad who he wanted to come back with him while they do the pre-op stuff. He said Mom can�t remember a thing and wanted me to come along to hear what the doc says, since this was considered an emergency thing he hadn�t seen the doc yet. He comes in and says he will be putting a hole in the side of his eye to release the pressure from the glaucoma. He goes back for surgery and I go back out and wait with mom. We chat a bit and before we know it they call us to come back to sit with him till he can go. He came out of it just fine and was chatting with me I went out got Mom came back and how he is getting a terrible headache and feeling a bit nauseous. His nurse was wonderful and she was like ha see I tried to tell you to take some Tylenol 10 min ago. Since he wasn�t feeling well he didn�t want to go eat breakfast, so Mom and I let him rest and head up to the cafeteria to get some breakfast because we ate at around 3:30 am and it is now something like 9. I did fetch us some mediocre vending machine cinn. rolls. They weren�t the best but went down well with a cup of coffee and stopped the hungries.

After we ate we went back to get Dad and he was feeling a bit better and ready to get out of there. Mom and I were both back there with him and so they pull the curtain so he can get dressed. I nonchalantly turn my back so I don�t see anything. He�s getting dressed and makes this comment about I don�t know why you are being all modest and everything you will probably end up wiping my butt. I laughed and said well I didn�t want to see his wrinkly old butt till it was time, and it isn�t time yet. So he is dressed and I turn around and say to him, �Didn�t you always say you were going to have a good old fashioned heart attack and just kick off quick??� I�m sorta counting on that as opposed to the while wrinkly old man butt thing.� Ohh my gosh the people next to use were just sitting there laughing quietly. It was too funny. Everybody seems to love my Dad when he is doing something like this. He has such a great sense of humor. His nurse just loved him.

We got home, well back to my van about noonish, and I made it home after a couple stops by 1:20. It was great to be home early. I was really tired but needed to make some changes in my schedule for the shop.

I helped Paul clean out his room of clothes and now I have about 6 loads of laundry to do. OYY!! I also found out that I have to buy him some new swimming trunks since his from last year are too small. Wish I would have bought the ones I saw on sale last fall. Dumb Dumb Dumb!

So that was my day. My pool is running and pretty. The giant patches I put on seem to be doing very well holding water. If they are leaking it is at a very slow pace. YAY!!

So on that note I need to get my niece�s kid�s Christmas presents found to give them to them.

Always Remember and Never Forget: Never let the blind guy read the map!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!