Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:58 a.m. - Monday, Oct. 11, 2004
My epiphany!
This morning I feel thankful and full of wisdom! I have heard it said, �two things make you who you are, the people that surround you and the choices you make.� For a long time I knew this but never really understood this to the extent that I do today; because today I had an epiphany in the shower. **yes I do my best thinking in the shower, it is just a shame I don�t recall much after the water stops.** This morning I realized that long before I could make my own choices and choose the people who surround me I had something wonderful. I had a family who cared and loved me, I had a Gram that was nurturing, loving and tough when she had to be. She was a good Christian even though I never once saw her attend church but I know she truly lived the way God wanted her to live. **Even when her husband had a mistress she forgave him and never wavered from the vow she made God on her wedding day. She lived quite a bit of her life on the farm up the road from my Dad�s house without her husband, and when he came home and was sick she took the best care of him.** Now there is a Saint in my humble opinion. I never realized how much influence she had on me till now. I had parents who loved me more than life it�s self. They made sure I was provided for and taught the difference between right and wrong, my mother went to work when I was just shy of 3 yrs old and back then that was a big deal, however she knew I was well taken care of at Gram�s house. They didn�t get along my Gram and Mom but they did love me and that made everything alright. I had a wonderful variety of people who loved me and cared if I grew up to be a great person. I had my dad�s sister who I dearly loved even though she taught me the lesson of hard work. She also taught us that there is a time for hard work but there is a time to sit up on Friday night and play cards and eat ice cream. My Gram�s sister Becky was the very best at showing us how important learning was and if you try hard enough you can learn what you set your mind too. She also demonstrated and modeled patients! Sometimes I wish I had her influence here with me while I was raising my kids. She also taught us that there is nothing better than sitting on the porch swing on summer evenings singing gospel songs. These memories are so dear to me they are my substancance. They are what makes me ME! My Dad was the disciplinarian he loved me very much but he taught me the value of being fair and merciful, but mostly he taught me that integrity *I didn�t know the meaning back then but I do now* and self respect were the most important things I could have in my arsenal of qualities to fight this wicked world. My sister taught me that no matter what she is my very best friend and no matter what I can tell her anything and she will not be judgmental but she will be supportive and help me out. There is also a host of others who influenced my life either for good or bad through out my life, but the single most important lesson I learned from my mom was that no matter what life gives you find something positive and move on. This has been the hardest thing for me to learn but I am finally getting it. The singular thing my dad taught me was that, �his sins are his sins and and your sins are your sins.� Now this is a wonderful lesson to learn and great advice, I just didn�t understand it till I was in my raising my own kids phase. Haha� I did explain it to them and they have taken it to heart I hope.

Since hubby boy is ready to go and I have not even gotten dressed I need to run but I am hoping to write more about the choices I have made and how the choices in who I have around me made a difference.

Always remember and never forget.. if you leave the towel on you hair and it begins to dry it guarantees a baaaad hair day. **heh I have a hubby I don�t need to impress anyone right??**

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!