Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:28 a.m. - Sat. July 17, 2004
I can't believe I am wrting about this!!!
My how a guestbook entry can become a whole diary entry! The places where inspiration comes from!

Coming from an obese person myself, weight is easy for some to control and very hard for others. My sister and I demonstrate that beautifully. While I am over weight I constantly worried about my kids. My daughter has the tendency to become over weight to do believe, however she does control it pretty much by herself. She is a teen and is very self-conscious. My husband sometimes sabotages her by bringing bad food into our house since he does the grocery shopping. I have told him many many times that I don't like him doing that but he does. In my opinion I believe parents with obese kids are just plain to lazy to cook or put restrictions on their kids. I know my great niece is obese and her mother feeds that child like she would herself or some other adult. She just blames it all on the steroids the child had in infancy. I do believe that I agree with you there should be restrictions where parents have to comply just like when children and youth here get a call that a child is living in a dangerously dirty home. They will come in and do inspections and the like to make sure that child is living in a healthy environment. I think they should force these parents to go to nutrition classes and parenting classes and be forced to present the child for weekly weight-ins and to keep a food journal. There should be guidelines set of how much of each food the child can have, and I don�t mean to cut the child�s food so severely that they are hungry but I do mean to severely cut food high in fat. Right now I�m on weight watchers; I have been heavy all my life and have battled the bulge forever. I have done many fad diets ohh yeah they work till you go off them. I have been on WW for 63 or so days now; I have lost a solid 18 lbs and can already feel the difference. I move easier and the best of all there isn�t a �NO NO list�. I hate �no no lists� when it comes to food. It seems to mess with my mind. WW doesn�t do that you pick and choose what you want to eat according to the points you have. Everything is listed in their books with a point value assigned to it. Raw veges are free, so if absolutely NEED to eat something and you have eaten your allotted points you can always eat veges. Fruits are either free or very low in points. The cool thing is I have finally changed my mindset to needing to do this the rest of my life, and I so mean forever as long as I live. I�ve always known that permanent weight loss is a life style change that you have to develop eating habits that help you lose then that will maintain it. I am not perfect and ohh yeah I fall off the ol� WW band wagon every so often and there are times I don�t count points like last weekend while I was away. I docked myself 10 of my flex points which isn�t much at all really since last night I was starving and had a bowl of cereal and while I was in town I had a **gasp** candy bar. I don�t deal well with pain and my knee and feet and back were hurting me so I thought chocolate would fix it. ***don�t even try to figure that one out,, I haven�t yet!*** I figure if these first 60 days are a good average sample of WW I do believe if I keep going the way I am going I will have lost my 137 lbs by the end of next summer and be at my goal weight. It came on one pound at a time and so it needs to come off one pound at a time. The good thing is I know a bit about altering clothing so I just keep taking my clothing in so far. Since I don�t exercise.. oyyy,,, I know I need to do that� my weight loss is spotty; although I have noticed that my pants are tight around my thighs and my boobs seem to be bigger thanks to less fat around my middle. That is a cool thing. Haha�

As a general rule I hate talking about my weight problem because I have been so mistreated about it over all the years I have become super sensitive to anything being said about it. I just can�t wait till I can walk into a store and buy stuff off the rack in a normal size. I am thinking I would love to be a Medium. In all my life I have never been a medium. So today I will work very hard on conserving my points so when I am hungry with a bad attack of the muchies tonight I have daily points left to be able to indulge a bit.

I for the first time in my life feel that I have control over my weight! Too bad I am not doing WW the right way,, I am actually just following the plan, I don�t go to the meetings I believe I would be too uncomfortable! I would be a wonderful success story for them, well next year after I have met my goal. You know what else I am excited about??? I can�t wait to see what my face looks like, I know there must be a pretty face under all this! Well I�m hoping.

I guess now I am off to fill my water bottle for the day and get ready to work!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!