Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 a.m. - Tue, June 8, 2004
Roller Coaster Days!
Some thoughts on camping:

Squeaky tricycles

Barking dogs

Old clunky trucks in need of muffler repair

Nice people

Lost kids

Nice walks

Relaxing afternoon naps

Musical tents

Bad, burnt, fun, yummy camp food

Forgotten items

Exploding Sierra Mist bottles

Playing with fire

These are the things camping is made of.

I am so tired as you can tell from the list that there was not a dull moment with this camping weekend. The very next time I say �sure your friends can come camping� would someone please direct me to this entry???

I have extra kids in my house; I should have had Don tell Alex call his dad so he could have gone home about an hour ago. I have had about enough, I have also had enough of Zack, who by the way is now Kay�s boyfriend again,,, hummm not sure about it but guess I will see what happens. I am ready to kick back relax and maybe take a nap before we have to go to a grad party tonight.

Allow me to expand on that list of camping fun things�

Squeaky tricycles and barking dogs make me nuts when it is before 8 a.m. and their parents/owners don�t keep them quiet. We had a family across the way from us with not only a yappy dog but a little kid who did nothing but ride this very very squeaky tricycle. I wanted to run over and oil the dang thing. Then thanks the little kid riding in front of this rottweiler it made him bark too. So I was awaked to squeak squeak squeak squeak, yip yip, squeak squeak squeak, bark bark bark, squeak squeak squeak yip yip� bark bark� groan groan.. ohhh wait that was coming from me. Finally I had had enough and dug out my earplugs but it was too late,,, they worked really well and got rid of the noise but it was too late,,, I couldn�t go back to sleep to save my life. So I got up and realized I did have any fire wood to make some cinnamon rolls. I did devise a way to cook those cinnamon rolls you buy in the tube on a stick. YUM!!! They were delicious, well when Alex would share the frosting! That kids eats entirely tooooo much,,,, oyy I cringe when I have to feed him. It is like feeding an adult. GRRRR!!!!

That was some of the not so pleasants moments, of which there will be more to come; to keep a balance. I will be talk about something fun. Don and I go took a nice stroll together with the camera, and took some photos of each other. That was so nice and enjoyable. We needed that. All the kids were playing basketball at the bball court so we walked up and took some photos, well on the way back we stopped at the court and they were gone. They were all on foot so I figured they couldn�t go too far, and wasn�t bothered by this. We were intercepted by Regina�s brother who had come to play football with the kids since Zack invited him. Well poor kid didn�t find the kids will it was time for him to leave. Apparently after playing basket ball they went down back to the lake and skipped rocks and just goofed around there, this is allowable and I probably wouldn�t have thought much about it till dark approached. My kids know they aren�t allowed to be away from the campsite after dark, however it began to worry and get a sick feeling in my stomach when both Richard (Regina�s brother) and Don couldn�t find them. I was getting really really worried, so worried in fact that I stopped the sheriff who patrols the grounds on the weekends and asked him if he had seen them. He said he had seen a bunch of teens at the bball court. So on his way around he stopped and told them to come home, by this time it was beginning to get twilight I wanna say it was something around 9 or so. Almost at the same point Richard found them and brought them back. Don was not happy but the kids were ok and they really didn�t do anything wrong, and had I been thinking I would have made one of them take the cell phone; which I think in the future I might make them do that. Kay felt so bad she made us worry, and promised next time to let us know where they were when they were gone for a long time. After they got home we has some pizza pies in the cookers and stuff. Was rather yummy.

Then it was off to bed we had different sleeping arrangements the second night from the first night, due to some not approved of behavior that I should file under the �dang, I should have seen this coming� folder. Regina brought her tent she got from Christmas and was happy about getting to use it. Well so I thought, however there were dark forces at work here. Apparently the kids cooked up some plan so that after I went to sleep my children would exchange tents which would put Kay with Zack. I heard the girls up at 1 or 2 a.m. and they said they were going to the restroom I am wondering if maybe that is when they were going to switch because Kay had her alarm clock thinking she could be back in her tent and I would be none the wiser. Well, like I told them I am not stupid and about the time the birds got to twittering I heard some giggling and talking and it was Kay�s voice and it wasn�t coming from her tent. The she became silent but it was too late. I called her into my tent and we had a bit of a chat, I told her that she was going to sleep with me and that I wouldn�t be able to trust her now. I told Zack that is he pulled another stunt like this he would find it nigh on impossible to ever see my daughter again. They all came and laid down in my tent and went back to sleep. This really upset me as they had the younger kids involved too. I had a talk today with them about how wrong it was and if Paul knows something that Kay is going to do and doesn�t tell me then he is in biggg biggg trouble too. Had he told me I would have just very easily side stepped the whole thing by making the girls sleep with me right from the beginning. I went over it again with Kay about the whole trust thing. I am so hoping that nothing like this happens again. I am sure something will but I am also hoping we learned something from this.

The rest of the trip was wonderful. The food was good,,, well I�m not sure about you but cooking over a fire is a difficult thing on sticks, however with practice one can achieve some very good tasty results. I tried some new yummy recipes I found on the net. One had you take a buttermilk biscuit and flatten it then wrap it around a marshmallow and put it on a stick and toast over the fire till golden brown. This posed 2 challenges to me, the first being keeping it on the stick, I lost two in the fire.. oops. The other challenge it posed to me was getting it all cooked, I usually had a goey bottom and a burnt top, but with a bit of practice it was good, just like a cream puff. Mmmmm The other recipe was take a cinnamon roll out of a tube of cinn rolls and wrap it around a fat stick then toast over a fire till golden brown put on frosting and you have yummy cinn. Rolls. We also had pizza hobo pies and pasta salad. I think everyone had enough to eat and enjoyed some tasty food they don�t get often.

I can�t wait to go camping again. This time I am hoping that John and Laurie come along, but every time I ask they are busy so guess I will just keep trying.

Yesterday was a mind boggleing day sorta a roller coaster of emotions, I faught with my ISP then I tried to get a new one and that one didn�t have a local dialup didn�t know that till I got everything all set up then the next one I tried I can�t get the stupid thing to dial into their server to get the software. OYYY OHHH and I got a nasty little something going on, Panda caught it but I thought I had lost this whole entry it showed up on my desktop with the ~$ before the name and was ghost like, like it was open somewhere. The when you click on it, it just says preferred user with code boxes, but it makes the real doc. Hide so you can see it when you go to open it with the word program. I however when it got hinky moved the original one into a file on my desktop. I had forgotten about it being there till late last night,, well I thought it was history, but I am happy to say here it is. Yaahoo, there was no way I could have remembered how to rewrite this! So those were the bad things but the good stuff was I got the old air conditioner out and it is old.. let me tell you,,, and I was afraid it wasn�t going to work,, but thanks the heavens and let the angelic orchestra play,,, it got cold� I was so happy, didn�t have the money to buy a new one. See so it was a roller coaster day!

I am going to post this so that I don�t run the risk of losing it again!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!