Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:55 a.m. - Saturday night, April 25, 2004
Good memories were made today!
Well today was very very eventful and it was all good. I love life when it is like this. At one point, I almost said, �It�s a wonderful life.� I did manage to lasso that before it left my mouth.

Let me begin at the beginning�. But first a disclaimer�.. I am who I am and so is my family so if you don�t like something I say in MY DIARY then don�t bother letting me know just go away if you find hunting distasteful because this is an account of a hunting expedition of my son. I will not defend myself or my family because there is nothing to defend; with this said back to the beginning�..

I kissed hubby boy and son this morning at about 5 am and off they went in search of a turkey. Today was the youth hunt in PA for Spring Gobbler. All week he had been telling me that his, son�s, turkey was going to be mounted and put on the wall in the same corner as his dads! I kept telling him that I wouldn�t let that happen and there was no way I would be allowing another trophy on the living room walls, he would have to find another place for it. All the while I was thinking to myself, son you have to first find a trophy turkey then you must shoot it before I have to really think about this whole deal. You know it was that thinking that was my undoing. I think it was a karma thing to be honest. So off to find the turkeys; hubby boy had put them to bed so they say so he knew where they were roosting out behind his friend�s house. It was a foggy morning and just about daybreak a crow made some noise and they heard a gobble, then more noise and more gobbling. Paul was getting excited they had been in the woods ohh about 40 min at this point. Hubby boy did some �calling� to the birds and sure enough he got a hen to come into the decoy. It was too funny they had names for the birds and a whole dialogue that they were saying. The more hubby boy would cluck the madder that hen got, apparently she viewed hubby as a threat to her man. She was coming up on the decoy and saw the guys, then started making a noise telling others something was up, **well we all know males, just kidding** but before she could really set up an alarm Moron Marv enter the area about 40 yards from the guys. Hubby said the girl kept yelling about the other women and ol� Marv kept gobbling �no no I wasn�t� to her accusatory yelling. Marv only had one thing on his mind this morning and that was making up to **man I wish I could remember what they called the hen** his woman and well that was his undoing. He came to see if he could get some when Paul got him first. 40 yards is a long shot for a 20 gauge shot gun, but he shot true to aim and nailed him. He was so excited, and his dad was soo proud. By the time they got back to Cooper�s house **hubby boys friend** Cooper had his brand spanking new camera out to take a whole slew of photos of the fierce hunters. He took roughly 20 some photos and put them on a CD for me to have. What a nice guy. He doesn�t hunt but loves to shoot game with his camera. **he is a real photographer, he can stop a sprint car going 200 mph clear enough to see the head of the screws on the wheels.** He and Trudy couldn�t have children and sometimes I think he enjoys doing things with hubby and son. I think he enjoyed this morning as much as my guys did.

The first thing Paul does when he sees this big turkey is call me. He was still so excited when he called the first thing he asked me was �Mom what is Karen�s **not to be confused with my Karen** Taxidermy phone number??� It didn�t register, then he told me he got a 30 something pound turkey. I was like wow that great how long before you come home I want to go back to sleep for a while. It wasn�t till I had hung the phone up that he told me he got a big turkey I was like oh my gosh,, naa he was just joking, but went back to sleep. It was about 8 when I got up to get ready for clients in the shop at 8:30 when I see them coming home. They stopped at my mother in laws to show her where she weighed it in at 20 lbs. it had a 9 � in. beard. So I did my first client and shortly there after they got home. I had the camera all ready. He was just beaming. I got some shots here with my camera and then we ran it down to Karen�s. I guess he wasn�t joking about needing that number. I guess I will eat my words and let this turkey be right where Paul had said he wanted it to go. I never dreamed he would bag such a nice bird. He was beautiful. It was a great shot, he deserves to display it. I can�t wait to scrapbook the photos and the feathers Karen gave me. She does great work, hubby�s turkey is beautiful. So my boy got a great big turkey after only one or two seasons. Turkey�s are hard to get because the only vulnerable spot on them is the head their feathers act as armor. I would rather have my son and husband out hunting than hating each other. It makes me so happy to see them have such a wonderful relationship. This is a memory they will cherish forever. Kay was excited too, we all went to take it to Karen�s shop. They told us the story on the way and we laughed together all the way there and back.

On the way back Kay asked for me to turn up the tunes so I did, it was wrap so I changed the station and an old song came and she groans but the groans turned into laughter when both hubby boy and I at the same exact moment sang a bit of this song. I thought she was going to die,, she said that her parents singing like that was just WRONG! OHH we had so much fun this morning.

The rest of the day was just pleasant. I have been feeling drained and tired **couldn�t be a few late nights on here�.*** so I took a nap when we got back and then called my mom. It was so sad I could tell she was hurting. It breaks my heart to hear it in her voice. She did tell me she can take a pain pill as long as she takes her Mylanta at the same time. I hope so, she says they make her sleepy, but that is fine it will help her not move and cause pain. I should have cleaned the kitchen and swept the floor but I was more interested in a nap, so I took a nap which did indeed come back to bite me in the derri�re. I did go out and help hubby boy patch our pool liner. This winter was hard on it, the tree falling on it was to blame I do believe. I hope these patches work! There is only about 3 inches in it right now. We will probably begin filling it on nice days.

We left for church and on the way I called John and Laurie and asked them if they wanted to come up for a bon fire since we have the xmas tree and the one that fell on the pool to burn, however all I got was their answering machine. We did mass in our old church, which was nice, I miss that music. Next we went up to �the darkside� to get some things and pick up the turkey pictures we dropped off earlier. It took hubby and Paul 13 min. to do most of the grocery shopping, I didn�t think they would be that fast so Kay and I weren�t in too big of a hurry. She wanted to get Zack something since she didn�t get him anything for Easter, so we looked at that stuff, then we looked at some St. John�s Wart, am hoping it will help with my moodiness. Then we got some nice chicken tenders for dinner and met the guys in the van. They weren�t happy campers, since they had been sitting there 58 minutes. Yikes I didn�t think we had taken that long! The chicken made up for it!

Since we hadn�t heard from our friends and they weren�t home when we came by their house we figured we would just spend a nice quiet night here alone. Well remember the whole nap thing?? I should have been tidying up and cleaning the kitchen because I had just sat down here to write this and there was a knock on the door. It was John and Laurie; John wanted to hear the big turkey story. We invited them in and enjoyed their company for a couple of hours. It was so nice, they didn�t know they were invited, I told Laurie it was ESP! It was a great visit, I pulled out my wedding album and we, Laurie and I enjoyed looking back at what is one of my happiest memories. I do wish I had cleaned up a bit there was a lot of mud tracked in today that I didn�t get swept up and there was dishes in the sink both clean and dirty.. OYYY!!! Oh well, they should know me by now, we�ve only been friends for ohh say 15 years! They guys have been friends for like all their lives they grew up a mile from each other!

The only thing that could have improved this day was if my friend�s Amy and Lei would have gotten on to chat tonight, but I understand they spend family time in the evening. *S*

Tomorrow is another day, so I am off to get some sleep to meet it head on and see and do all it has to offer

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!