Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

middle of the night. - Thurs., April 22, 2004
Making a difference.
Well today was a good day, didn�t do much in the shop but it was still a good day. I am feeling a bit like a whipped puppy tonight for some reason and kinda weepy. I hate it when that happens. I heard a song that reminded me of David and to be honest I haven�t bed sad when thinking about him for a long time, but today it just took me by the throat and choked me all up. I wonder if he watches over me. I wonder if he would he happy for me?? I know him and hubby boy would get along famously.

L-empress wrote an entry about making a difference which got me to thinking about the people who have made a difference in my life one way or another. For instance, I think all the kids who were mean to me because I was heavy, showed me that self-esteem is fragile, my Mom showed me that a mother�s love is unconditional no matter what, my Gram taught me that if you put cold milk in bread it won�t rise, among other wonderful things. These people all have impacted my life in major ways, but as I look back I had a nun who taught me how to spell, how I haven�t a clue **yes my spelling was ohh so much worse than this** she wouldn�t give up on me I think, which taught me more than how to spell but that I could learn it no matter how hard it was if I tried hard enough. I think she also taught me how important perseverance was too. I didn�t always know that those people made a difference in my life till I actually thought about it at some time or another. Then there are the people that made more of a subtle difference in my life� these people just left impression on me that helped shape how I think or react to things.

We got into a discussion the other day about cloning, you can clone DNA but you can�t clone people. The difference between people and DNA is as people develop their thoughts and feelings are shaped by the events in their lives. For example as a child you touch the stove top it is hot, so you learn not to do that. A clone would have to do that to learn that. Or things learned by doing, like what roads lead you to school and what not. The loss of a loved one or the joy of birth, shape our lives and who we are, so much more than just DNA. It was an interesting discussion to say the least.

I also from time to time have to wonder what impact or difference I have made in this world. I know there have been times that kids from my kids classes I have volunteered in have come up to me and remembered me. Wow I didn�t think I was making a difference. I liked volunteering in school but never though the kids would remember me. I always said if I have helped one child it was worth my time and energy. I hope I have helped at least one.

Well I had so much more to write but am too tired to remember what it was.

Thank goodness everybody in the morning has rescheduled and I don�t have to get up early!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!