Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:01 p.m. - Monday, April 19, 2004
Gotta love \"the old ones!\"
I seemed to have been too tired to write about my adventure to Pittsburgh with �the old ones� my parents. I love my parents very very much. Our trip started out uneventful, we managed to get the MRIs and such in good time and then was off to the docs appointment. The drive down was nice the sun was shining and their car rides so smoothly, we had nice conversation. We made it to the hospital and I located a parking garage which as it turned out had a whole alphabet in levels. Round and round we went looking for a place to park. We kept joking about how one can get lost in just the parking garage. I wish I had been smart enough to go up one more level and park right next to the elevator we weren�t too far but far enough when walking can bring on pain. I guess you live and learn.

So we get into the hospital and there is a nice little snack bar there, and since their alarm didn�t go off at the right time they were running late and didn�t get to eat their full breakfast so muffins and coffee were the order of the morning, but this was after the whole �help me I can�t get out!� restroom episode. Get this I�m in the full size ladies room and I hear Mom�s voice yelling �help� with some panic. I was glad I was finishing up and ran to rescue her, and just as I was getting there she managed to get the door open and was coming out. So we enjoyed our muffins and coffee then set off to find the docs office.

I had them bring us a wheel chair because if you have ever been in Presby hospital in Pitts. you know that �just down this hall and around the corner,� is really about 2 miles. I didn�t know what was to come so I thought it best we didn�t aggravate her back pain by making her walk. I felt bad cause Dad�s knees aren�t real good either and I am sure he was hurting a bit by the time we got all done with our excursion.

We make it to the docs office and I get Mom parked and found a spot for Dad and I, then proceeded to get the forms to fill out from the desk. I begin filling out these forms and Dad begins with his grand idea of having all medical information in encrypted files on the net so that all doctors have access to all the info about this patient. Or at least have all the patients basic info on a floppy disc, *he doesn�t know that most new computers don�t even have floppy drives anymore* that they office can just put in their computer and then we wouldn�t have to fill out all these forms. He is voicing this pretty darn loudly so the lady behind the desk says something to the effect, not all docs ask the same information. Dad makes some remark, but at this point **no mom is on one side of me and dad is on the other** Mom looks around me and yells at Dad �shut up Tom you are a embarrassing me!� I just shake my head and kept on filling out the paperwork. It was rather funny. So we get into the docs office and I truly feel sorry for anyone who is trying to take event history from my parents. Dad tends to jump in with every tiny detail which may come from back in the early 70�s, and mom on the other hand tends to not say enough about her symptoms. OYY,, so I pretty much tell them as close as I can figure what happened when and where concerning this particular problem.

The doc comes in, and looks at the films and asks mom some questions and what not feels where it hurts and such. Then he leaves, comes back and says, �He didn�t think there was discitis, but there was the arthritis, and degeneration, but he thinks the pain is coming from more of a mechanical problem when she moves.� He suggested seeing a pain doc in Erie, for trigger point therapy and steroid shots. This we will do in May, I called and set an appointment for May 11 the earliest they have. I�m looking forward to another adventure. As grating on the nerves their arguing can be I still love spending time with them and this trip to Pitts was fun. I did fairly well I only got honked at once, and only tried to get us killed by a bus once, and only missed one exit which luckily there was another one that worked out just fine. So all and all it was a good trip.


The weather has been beautiful here sunny and in the 70�s the last couple of days. Today it is getting progressively windier and cloudier. I think we might be in for some rather nasty thunder storms. I noticed there was a severe weather indicator next to the weather thingy on my yahoo page. I didn�t look.


Yesterday evening my stomach began to hurt and my back, I�m sure why it did that. I certainly hope I am not going back to monthly problems like I had in high school. I got really sick for 2 days every month. My back and stomach seem to be fine as long as I don�t eat or move. HUMM Wonder if it could be the flu?? Time will tell.


I guess I had better get started on Kay�s scrapbook since she was supposed to get this done ohhh say a few weeks ago. She only know about this for ohhh the WHOLE DANG WRESTLING SEASON!!!!! She is such a procrastinator. **wonder where she could have gotten that?? (whistling and looking around innocently)**

One last thing�

Taken from Lei

Do this: I would like everyone who reads this to ask me 3 questions, no more no less. Ask me anything you want. Then I want you to go to your journal, copy and paste this allowing your friends (including myself) to ask you anything. Thanks.

You can post your questions either in my notes or g-book.

Have a great day!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!