Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:39 a.m. - Very early Easter Morning April 11. 2004
Here comes Peter Cotton Tail....hopping down that big bad hill.....
Isn�t it amazing the restrictions we as parents and adults put on our teens?? I know I am just old fashioned but with the risks of STD�s out there I have made it plain and clear my kids should NOT even think of having sex until they are married or of the age 21 or are no longer my responsibility. First of all I don�t think promiscuous is a good thing. I can get you killed if you aren�t careful these days. Second I don�t want my kids having sex because crap happens and I am not going to raise grandkids. I�m sure I posted my very conservative parenting morals here but that isn�t what this is about tonight. I was thinking that while I am an adult I am asking my soon to be 16 yr old to control her natural and normal hormonal responses to the opposite sex. I am telling her that she must keep a tight reign on those sometimes very strong feelings and trust me I remember what being 16 was like. I had a steady boyfriend. Even though I have tried to set a good example to her about control there are so many adults out there that make that kind of loose behavior look perfectly acceptable. It just hit me tonight as I was driving Kay�s boyfriend home that we are asking them to �wait till it is the right time to have sex, preferably till they are married or old enough to not mess my life up..LOL just kidding.� when there are a lot of people out there that can�t control themselves but know better. I am hoping that Kay waits a few more years before she dives into the deep end. I like the boyfriend right now, he is an alright kid.

He has been through a lot and it isn�t ending yet. His grandparents with whom he lives with are getting a divorce this summer. They are working on getting things in order to sell their house. It wasn�t long ago that his mother was killed in an auto accident, even though her children didn�t live with her she was very close with them. This has been really hard on Zack and I worry about him. He is thinking he wants to go into the Air Force. I am not telling him it is a good idea just that there are a lot of options open to him if he studies hard and gets good grades. I do think sometimes he just looks at thing like �why should I bother I can get by.� I am hoping that this kid will be alright. He is into sports and what not so I am hoping that he will stay with a good group and not fall into some bad things. I went and got him this evening so he could color eggs with us. He had a great time. We were all a bit silly, and I sent him home a dozen colored eggs to share with his family. I really hope Kay is a good for him, and he is good for her.

Enough of the deep thoughts, Twisted-Mind changed the background of my page, isn�t it cool. I don�t know how she does it but man can she pick just what I would have picked. Does she know me or what? Thanks soo much for that!!! While I was admiring my new background, I took a walk through my archives. Reading the titles of each entry makes me sound like fun. Ahh but I know the truth, however it was still rather cool if I do say so myself.

I am waiting on the silly Rabbit to arrive and bring us all kinds of Easter goodies and hide the eggs. I am thinking that rabbit might have to visit twice once to bring the baskets and once to hide the eggs. I want them refrigerated since they were out for quite some time today so they should be hid shortly before everyone wakes. Paul wants them hid one last year. Kay said she was fine with hiding the baskets but didn�t really want to hunt eggs. I never got into the whole find the eggs thing because I was never good at it and everyone else got the money and stuff in the special eggs. I think it is unfair so I don�t do that I just hide the colored eggs. Maybe if I did hide one or two special ones Kay would be more interested. OHH well.. it has worked for years so far, why change it.

I am so tired I can�t hardly keep my eyes open. We were supposed to go to church tonight and we did get all dolled up and went, however I didn�t look at the right bulletin and went and there was nobody there. What a bummer, I wont� have time in the morning with the having to run, to and from church along with getting the stuff finished that I need to take out to dinner which I have to leave here at 12:45 to get there. I did find out much later that the vigil mass was to be at 7:30. Funny he didn�t mention the change in time last week. OYYY!!! I�ll turn on the catholic network in the morning and listen to mass, I know it isn�t the same as going but I will like it.

My lamb cake turned out good again this year. I am not sure how to properly clean this mold since it has nooks and cranties that I just can�t seem to get wiped out. Anyone know how to clean them? Someone once suggested burning the remaining shortening and flour off the mold in the oven, but I�m not sure how to go about that. This thing is so old, it is a family heirloom that I hold near and dear to my heart. I was given it by my mother, it was her mother�s before *I think* with the stipulation that I make a lamb cake every Easter with it. I do make the cake and take it with pride to the family dinner. That lamb cake is as much a part of Easter as the Easter Bunny to me. I remember it as a really cool part of Easter. Mom used to let us kids decorate him, with jelly beans.

This brings me to another observation, memories, while there are some memories of major events in our lives most of our memories are made up of everyday stuff like putting a jelly bean necklace on a lamb cake, or how our fingers usually got all green from coloring the cocoanut to make the grass he is laying in, or as my Kay would say, midnight milk runs. She loves those so we do it from time to time, she also told me that those are some of her best memories. So I have decided to scrap the every day things in my scrapbook with nice journaled stories sharing those memories. Another one for me is making bread with my gram, I can remember standing on a chair right next to her, she must have had the patients of Jobe to let me add the ingredients. I took a couple photos of us coloring eggs and then one of the eggs themselves. Tomorrow I will take a bunch of photos out at my sister�s.

I called my Mom today she is still the same and her back is hurting again, but she says she is going to do nothing in the morning so she can come for dinner at 2. I hope she is feeling good tomorrow.

Has anyone seen that Easter Bunny??? I know he or she is due here any time now. I think that everyone is sound asleep.

I think I hear him/her now,, Happy Easter. Christ endured death and the grave to be raised up on the 3rd day. He is risen! Rejoyce! I will keep trying to live up to the wonderful gift He gave me. I think I see that bunny now!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!