Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:46 a.m. - Sat. night Feb. 8, 2004
I HATE MY DRIVEWAY!!!!
Lets see it is Saturday morning here and it is snowing and I had to shovel to ruts into my drive to get the slush out yesterday so I could get out and now it is frozen, yippee! We had to miss an orthodontic appointment thanks to the whole can�t get out of the stupid driveway thing. GRRR I hate doing that! We did finally get out with the help of an ash/sand mixture of my own making! Didn�t have enough ashes didn�t have enough sand; mixed the two and man did I get some great traction after that. You know what they say about the mother of invention!

I had not a single soul in the shop yesterday, surprise surprise. NOT! So I puttzed around make this really cool title for a scrapbook page that says Winter, but I can�t use it on said page because the colors don�t match the rest of the color scheme. OHH well I will put it into my thing and just save it for another page.

OHH and while I was online trying to get my stupid web accelerator fixed I went to my site meter page and was checking out different things. One is I like to look at the details to see if I recognize any, and yes I did there are certain ones that denote where they are and I know who they are, that is very cool. To me it is like knowing a friend stopped by to say hello. I also noticed there is someone that visits from here in PA not far from me. I checked out the ISP and they are only ohhh about an hour or so away. I didn�t seem to check what page brought them here but I do think it was more than once. Very interesting. I would be cringing right now if I had family there but I don�t so it is all good!

I know we have all be �googled� on some very amusing things, and I can finally say I did get �googled� on something funny. Someone actually did a search on Butt Smeller, and actually found my page listed on the second page of the search and came and read it. Too funny I was thinking when did I write about a butt smeller?? So I went back and checked here it was an entry last year about the time the dog got all friendly with a skunk that didn�t want to get friendly with her. Butt and smeller weren�t even in the same sentence. Talk about funny. Sometimes I like to see what bring folks by for a visit. I can�t say I ever thought anyone would find me with that search but then again there are some very interesting people in this world.


Now the day has came and went fairly uneventful except for one thing. I have finally met my match; I couldn�t get out of my driveway this evening. We had purchased tickets for a reverse raffle. **It is a raffle but instead of the first ticket being drawn as the winner it is the last ticket drawn to be the winner. They sell so many tickets and then they gather that many prizes and list them in order 1 to how ever many ticket are sold then as the numbers are drawn you get the prize next prize off the list.* I was bummed when Don got called into work about the time we were thinking about getting ready to go. I called my mother in law and asked her if she wanted to go she said she would so I tried to get out and couldn�t make it more than a third of the way up the hill. Total ice. I tried the ash/sand thing and it didn�t work. Not enough ashes. I was so disgusted that I didn�t want to even go. I came in and told mom I couldn�t get out. Then I called my neighbor that had expressed interest and offered it to them. I figured someone should use it. She told me that they had gotten a ticket this evening but they would be more than happy to take me with them. So I figured what the heck. It wasn�t 10 min after I got off the phone with her that my mother in law called and said that she could probably drive over. I really didn�t want to ride with her. Her driving scares me on good roads, not to mention nasty winter ones. **although she hasn�t gotten into a wreck for as long as I have known her** I was honest and told her that Bernie and Gerald asked me to go with them. I�m not sure if she was bummed or not, but I didn�t know what to do. I really hadn�t planned on going after I couldn�t get out.

The raffle was fun and I think it made a ton of money for the basketball program, well not that my son will benefit from it. I think they only send the Varsity and Jr. Varsity to camps. As we were leaving some of the other neighbors, who are all either siblings or cousins to Gerald said they were stopping at the bar on the way home. They asked if I wanted to and I only had enough for one cooler, but sure I would love to visit for a while longer. It was nice John, and Laurie *my best friend*, us, James and Linda, Joe and Debbie, and Roseanne and Doug and their son. I really had a good time. It had been ages and I mean ages since I have gotten out for a drink. Don doesn�t drink and I hate to spend money on it if he isn�t going to enjoy it too, so we don�t go to the bar hardly ever. It was rather nice though just visiting and whatnot, as I have mentioned I don�t seem to get out much. Heck last year for Valentine�s day we went to dinner and it was wonderful then we were to have drinks with my sister here in town but she wasn�t feeling well so we came home.

The rest of the day was fun too actually. Kay had a biology project to do involving a fermentation process. Yeast would the process they chose, what better than cinnamon rolls. Her two friends who were in her group came over and they made the very best rolls. YUM!!! They were so good we decided to make some for breakfast in the morning, Hence while I am still awake. *S* I hope mine turn out just as good as the ones the girls made.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!