Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:23 p.m. - Monday, Feb. 2, 2004
Super Bowl Party Hold the Fire Please!
**starting off with much sarcasm** Today is a special day!! It is the one time of year these particular friends come to visit; it is also Super Bowl Sunday, not a coincidence! I guess hubby and them have been doing this for nigh on 20 some years now. They had been doing this a few years before we got together in 86. They are nice people; I really enjoyed it this year. The last few years it was not very exciting or fun for me since I have nothing in common with these people and have felt at times they only put up with me because I am married to their friend. Ya know? Although tonight I actually had a good time visiting with them. ODD� very very odd. Jim is a photographer and he was showing me how to set up my manual settings on my camera to take pics of Kay cheering. I think I might be able to take some better photos now. I hope! I also found that I have this program that came with my camera is a neat program. I hadn�t explored it before, and while showing Jim the photos we just took I mistakenly double clicked on one of them and it opened up the photo and gave me tons of information on how the camera was set for the photo which will be useful in taking better photos, it also will touch them up too. I think it might even be the answers to my prayers and actually compress the file instead of making the size of the photo change. I will have to check that out.


**Here is where I got too tired to finish so I tabled it until I could think clearly enough to write it coherently. So without farther ado�

This weekend has been fun too in spite of its self. I had been sort of dreading it because of the Super Bowl party and I figured I would spend most of my time cleaning up my piggy pen for the party I didn�t really want to have. However when I got done doing the few hair cuts I had Sat. morning Don said the weather was calling for snow and there is a slight chance he would be called to work so he talked me into going with him to �the darkside� to get the weeks groceries and let the kids could spend some of their Christmas money that they hadn�t yet.

We went and actually had a good time just looking around and whatnot. We went to Burger King for lunch after that and had a great time. I love holding my kids captive like that; they tend to share things in their lives we wouldn�t otherwise hear about. Not that some of it isn�t pure silliness, but it is really neat that they don�t think it is horrible to be seen with their parents having fun. We came home and I took a nap while everybody just sorta relaxed. Mind you up to this point there hadn�t been any cleaning and things looked pretty darn bad. About 4:30 the call came for Don to head off to work; which was good but bad, he has had a lot more work than usual, lots of 12 on and off shifts.

Since I didn�t think it was fair to Paul and I to stay home and clean while Kay went to a Christian Rock concert; Paul and I went to Laurie�s after we dropped Kay off down town. It was snowing pretty good and the streets were slick but not overly bad.

At Laurie�s Melissa was showing me the dresses she bought for $10 and began telling me there were quite a few left. I know Kay had wanted to go up and check them out but we just didn�t have the time to do it. At this point I must have gotten a bolt of lightening that jump started my energy and suggested that Laurie, Melissa, and I all go back to the Deb shop and see what they had. So we jumped in the van and went shopping at like 7 pm. I spent $103 on 6 dresses and one shirt. These dresses are semi-formal floor length, not bad if I do say so myself, however, she only gets to keep one of the dresses and the shirt then I will return the rest this week sometime. She was so excited after the concert, she had a great time. She loved the dresses and I think she has picked a good one to keep. I might just let her keep the other one that I liked too. I hope the ones we chose are the 10 and 15 dollar ones. She is such a good kid I like to reward her for being that way. **ok that was just a way of justifying spoiling her.**

As we were preparing to leave I heard my name being called; I asked Laurie if she heard it and she said she didn�t hear anything but it was there. It kept calling me and calling me and it was close by. I knew there was no way I could resist it when I realized where it was coming from. There, across the concourse in the mall was a big sign on a cart of books at the book store, a 75% off sign on a cart of lovely new books!!!!! I couldn�t fight it any longer as it drew me to it I kept telling myself, you have no money, things are tight, no work on the horizon, but it didn�t work. I couldn�t help myself when I saw books for only one dollar, one dollar, for a fresh off the presses, untouched, not a break in the spine book. I think I did well for being me, I only spent 7 dollars. I got a Sherlock Holmes collection of classic **this time they seem to be the classics* stories, a novel Winter Solstice, a book called The Power of Self Esteem, and a comedy called Sick Puppy. They also had their 2004 calendars at 75% too so I got a smaller one for the fridge, and a nice big one for a buck for the beauty shop. I was so tickled when I left there knowing I had new books to bring home. I am so addicted to books I can�t help myself. I justify buying books as setting a good example to my kids about reading.

It was 9:20 when we reached Laurie�s house after little excursion, and I was hoping Kay would be getting back soon. Since it was too late to do any scrapbooking, which is why we went in the first place; we turned on the AKC/Iams National Dog Show. It was pretty good. I love dog shows for some stupid reason. I can�t tell ya what won, but it was amusing to watch. Kay finally got home at 10:20 and modeled the dresses for us and told me she wanted them all, I told her she better begin to do some deciding. A good time was had by all!!! **except at the very end Paul and Ryan were both very tired and of course since we left them alone they got stupid and Ryan ticked off Paul but up till that part things were going well.**

Sunday began slowly since hubby boy had to work till midnight. He has been looking so very tired lately I didn�t wake anyone up so that he could sleep till he woke up. So we didn�t go to church, I feel bad but I do think I will talk to his catechism teacher and tell her why he misses and ask that if he misses to let me know what they covered and I will do the lesson with him here at home during the week. I felt much better after I thought of doing that. I don�t want him to fall behind. **not that I believe they learn a lot there anyways, but I still want him to get out of it what he can.**

I was absobloominlutely amazed at my family, we all got busy and cleaned up this house and had an hour or 2 to spare till the company came. I mean this house looked pretty darn good considering whose house it is! I even swept the basement steps. The very coolest thing about it was hubby boy used the turkey fryer, you know those great big ones that take like 2 gal. or so of oil to deep fry stuff in to cook the wings. It usually takes quite some time for him to fry them up here and then our house stinks and there�s grease all over everything. He did them in the basement where it was safe and wouldn�t burn the house down, who would have thought though that it was the candle I had burning that would be the �hot spot� of the evening.

We are all sitting in the living room watching the game, but Kay who was sitting out here at the bar doing her homework. She looks up at us in the living room and says, �fire� we were like huh?? The she says �FIRE� I jumped up and ran in to see a candle that I had wrapped in foil to catch the wax was indeed on fire, flames about a foot high. Talk about moving fast, I ran over and ahh duhhh blew on it,, that was so wrong� then I was just going to scoot it with my empty water bottle into the sink when it fell on the floor at that point I just picked the measuring cup laying there and filled it with water and dumped it on it on the floor. Problem solved with � of a cup. Talk about excitement. That little incident taught me 2 things, one foil will burn, and two, I need a fire extinguisher in my kitchen. The only damage done was there are some small marks on the counter, my poor water bottle bit the dust as it melted a bit and got 3 tiny pins hole in it, and alas this stupid basket of nuts from like 2 Christmas�s ago got a bit scorched just one spot about and inch and half in diameter was sorta charred. I was hoping for a reason to pitch it. Paul said he liked it and that we could just turn it around. Thank goodness she was sitting there and saw it before it got too bad. I don�t think I want to burn any more small type candles any more. I think I will just stick to my big jar candles and tart burner with a light bulb. Funny thing was it took about ohh 2 min. and we were back watching the game. I have to hand it to everyone; nobody said anything other than ohh that was some excitement. Talk about embarrassing. Next year I will have to have a Super Bowl party hold the fire! Don didn�t even yell at me. Man can I be very very stupid. Just writing it scares me.

Today was much much less eventful. After hubby boy left for work, I had an idea for an element on my new puppy scrapbook page so I got busy on that. It is so cute it is a dog house with the door in the front cut out and is has a photo of Night as a baby laying in it, the cool thing is that I put like 3 more photos under it so you flip up the front of the dog house and there are more photos. Hard to explain but it tuned out so neat! I can�t wait to get the rest of the page done. That will have to wait till like Wednesday, since tomorrow I have 3 or 4 cuts and perm in the shop tomorrow! Whaa whoo!! Tomorrow night will be a late one though Kay has her last home match to cheer for; it is Senior Night so it should run a bit longer. I can�t wait I hope to get some nice photos now that Jim has taught me some stuff about my camera.


Something weird happened and I am hoping it is Kay that opened it, but I went down to fix the fire tonight and it felt really cold over by the wood pile. I got to looking around and the window over by the work bench was open. I yelled up for hubby boy to come close it since I thought it was he who opened it. He said he didn�t, I know I didn�t, and Paul said he didn�t, hummm I am hoping it was her, but why would she open that window?? HUMMM!!!! ODD very ODD! I trust her I trust her I trust her� ohh man I hope I can trust her. I don�t like mysteries in my own home!

Did I ever mention my son startles me on a reg basis?? I�m sitting here typing away and all of a sudden he begins to talk, **doesn�t sound much like English to me** in his sleep and I get a start every time!


Dang if this wasn�t the most long winded entry ever!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!