Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 p.m. - Sunday Jan. 25, 2004
My long winded weekend.
Sigh,,,,, this has been a good weekend. My baby is now 14 years old. I can�t believe how fast the time has passed. You know I used to sit and hold my babies and think about them growing up and what they would be like when they were teens and how I wanted to hang on to those days of them being babies for dear life. I didn�t ever manage to find a way to do that, other than enjoying every day I had with them no matter what age they were at. I could always find something to appreciate about any age my kids were at. Each phase held new and exciting challenges. I have great kids and I am blessed that they are both healthy and happy. **I would say fat and sassy but kay would take that in the wrongest way possible. **

I can�t remember what we did Friday night, but Don came home at his reg. time. Whaa whoo a normal 8 hr day was the rarity last week for our PDOT guys. We watched the new MONK, I really enjoy that show. Who would have thunk a cab driver off of Wings would turn out to be such a good �mental case� detective. ** that is not a shot or a derogatory statement again anyone with a mental illness, he plays the part well and it makes the whole show.** I was very tired not sure why but I was. The funny thing is I went to bed and dreamed all night long about the next scrapbook page which is part 2 of a 2 page layout of the kids snow day pictures. I kid you not, I tossed and turned and dreamed about that page all night long and got the worst sleep of my life. Needless to say I was draggin� butt all day Sat.

Saturday was a good day in spite of the horrible sleep thing; I did 2 hair cuts and had Paul�s birthday parties, yes plural parties. He had one with his 3 friends they did the normal video games and sled riding, fighting with his sister, then we had our family one that usually consists of my sister Jill and her family, our friends John and Laurie and us, well Jill couldn�t come but her girls *the twins, who are just a month younger than Paul,* but John and Laurie and their kids came and we had ice cream cake and did the birthday thing again. The first party had the cake I baked him with reg. ice cream. I do believe that a good time was had by all. I was beat and soon fell asleep after everyone when home.

This brings us up to today. Sunday, it was a wonderful day cold but not quite as fridged this afternoon as it has been. Paul had is girlfriend Regina over today. She is soo sweet. I could just adopt her. Jen our neighbor came up too since her mom said another girl had to be here. Paul didn�t think she would be comfortable with the just guys for the first party so she invited her over with Jen today. They had a good time sled riding and such got some cute photos I hope. I even got some video too. He asked Alex to come over again even though he was here from 1 to 9 last night. I think that might have made Paul feel better but I think it might have made Alex feel odd. The boys are at an awkward stage right not. Paul didn�t hold her hand or anything like that, and as matter of fact the girls got cold first and came in and I made them hot chocolate and worked on my page while we all chatted about cheerleading. Regina is a basketball cheerleader for get this.. Hehe Paul�s team and the 9th grade team. Cool huh?

Then this evening I wasn�t going to go down to see mom in the hospital because they were calling for nasty freezing rain and snow around 8 pm. I called my dad and did some chatting with him while I was doing that I got on line and checked the weather and they were now saying it wouldn�t get here till after midnight, so I decided that an hour visit would be better than no visit. So Kay and I jumped into the van and went down to visit her. She did sound bummed when I called and told her what the first forecast was calling for and that I didn�t want to get caught out in it so I wouldn�t be coming down. She understood but still sounded a bit bummed. Boy was she surprised when we showed up. She was already asleep, I said to Kay, oyy I should wake her up, she�s got all night to sleep. Kay thought that was funny.

Just an aside about my mom, when I was a child and needed my mother at night I always hated to wake her up because she would just and usually give a startled noise which would scare the begeesbies out of me. So standing there tonight I didn�t want to startle her so I just stood there and waited for the Mommy feeling to kick in and realize I was standing there. My kids hate to wake me for the same reason. Kay says it doesn�t matter if they touch me to wake me or they just stand there I jump and yelp every time almost.

We did visit for about an hour and she told us it was time to so since Kay has school tomorrow. It was a great visit and worth every bit of gas it took even at $1.65 a gal. Time and money well spent!! She was soo very happy to see us. $5 in gas, an hour of Kay�s sleep time missed, the look on Mom�s face when she saw us�.. PRICELESS. HEHE I can make commercials. Hehehe.

She is a nut magnet. She has had 4 roommates down there since last Tue. 2 of which were nuttier than a fruitcake! The one was a senile Italian lady who said she had to close up her kitchen windows every time she made spaghetti because the neighbors would come and want it. She was too funny, then there were two others in that room both of them were very nice the one young the other older. Then they moved her to TCC Transitional Care Center I guess, and gave her another nut case. It was too funny. This little ladies name was Irene. Nice enough but with an extreme case of ants in the pants. She was forever getting up and going into the bathroom. She liked to join in the conversation which was too funny, sometimes she knew what we were talking about and sometimes didn�t have a clue but joined in none the less. She was a rather interesting character.

The doc is working on a way to get her outta there. He is going to see if she can�t go home and then just come to the hospital once a day for her antibiotics. Right now she is getting 2 actually one that she gets once a day and the other she gets like 2 or 3 times a day. I am hoping the culture grows so they will know more about the infection so that they can tailor the antibiotic to her. There is a chance though that the antibiotics they told her to take when she was first diagnosed might have made it not want to grow, but she was off them like 4 or 5 days before the test so we are keeping our fingers crossed. We should know something on Friday sometime. It doesn�t change the amount of time or the way it is administered just maybe the type of drug.

The upside of the TCC unit is that I think if I understand right that I could sign her out as long as she wasn�t hooked up to the IV and take her to lunch or something. I am going to call the hospital and see. If this is possible I will take her out one day later this week. I think she will like that.

Well I am tired again tonight so I am off to bed.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!