Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:13 p.m. - Wed. Jan. 14, 2004
I guess I'll just have to wait till next year!
As of tonight I will pass the torch on to another Juror 15. **you know the very funny thing is that is my number in the pool; it just hit me that most people refer the people on a jury, you know the 12 in the box and the 2 alternates, so it is comical that I would be # 15. I hope you got that.** I called the wonderful little automated phone info line for jurors and the message this evening for the general jury pool was that we were excused and our check would be in the mail. Whaa whoo whoopty Dooo! I guess I don�t have a face that lawyers like or something because I managed to not make it to a jury again! In our state how ever, if you don�t serve 3 days your name can be put back into the pool and be drawn again in a year. Soooo who knows I might get another crack at being on a case. Thus ends the saga of jury duty!!

Since I didn�t have jury duty today I did my mom�s and her friend Connie�s hair today then we went to lunch. Boy was that stupid, ok not the lunch part that was wonderful but the going out in this wonderful nasty weather was the stupid part.

Each year I have to be reminded of the wrath of Mother Nature in PA. I as a general rule don�t go a whole lot and especially if it is snowy and bad; however one time a year I find myself out in a winter storm. Usually it is something very stupid and trivial like going to lunch and then I find myself chastising myself all the way home. Mom and Connie wanted to go out to lunch, **apparently they don�t like what I pull out of my fridge, since I offered to make lunch here.** It was snowing to beat the band and I was thinking that I could rely on the weather forecasters who haven�t really a clue when it comes to snow in our area to be accurate when they said only 4 in. of snow today but very cold. I�m thinking yeah I can take highs in the upper teens today. Silly me I should have been questioning the amount of snow not the temps. I can honestly say that I don�t think it has totally stopped and cleared off today since about 10 am, it has snowed constantly letting up now and again but for the most part snowing like there was no tomorrow all day long. Even as I write this hubby boy is battling those pennies from heaven.

Apparently the stupid powers that be decided that it was ok to keep the kids for after school activities. I hate having them sent home when they have practice but I live 15 miles from the school with lots of nasty road between them and me. I don�t have a hubby home in the evening to fetch the kids in four wheel drive, all I have is me with front wheel drive, and today I can honestly say that I couldn�t make it up my hill so I had to go around to another road up the same hill to get home. **as I kept telling myself. stupid stupid stupid girl,, what were you thinking!!** I called Don and asked how things were he told me to ask the neighbor guy, who we carpool with for the boys basketball if he would go get them even though it was my night to drive. I was grateful to him for also getting Kay while he was out there.

I was even more shocked when the lady that Kay baby sits for called and asked her if she was ready that they hadn�t cancelled the refresher Lamaze course they were to take this evening. They came and got her and brought her back. Poor thing will be soo tired tomorrow getting to bed this late. I do believe that somewhere along the line that 4 in. in actuality is really about 8 to 10 and still coming down not as hard but still falling.

You know it just hit me I write an awful lot about the weather. HUMM this says one or two thing about me; 1) I am very pathetic and have nothing else in my life to write about or 2) I am very lucky to have nothing bad happening in my life to write about. I would rather think that number 2 applies more than number 1.

Speaking of the weather I have learned that North Dakota doesn�t get as much snow as we do. It only took Roadiepig about 3 times telling me that they don�t get as much snow as we do. I guess old ideas die hard. That just blows my tiny pea-sized brain all to heck. I just thought that out west they had blizzard type weather that put down feet of snow as opposed to inches here. I guess driving through one of the blizzards out there when I went out to Colorado **lucky you guys, I didn�t have this then, those entries would have read like a low budget soap opera, maybe someday I will put in here the whole gory story.** They shut down all the highways and most of the little towns on the regular roads were closed due to the weather. I guess I just thought that was typical of winter there. I think 3 feet fell out of that 2 day storm. That would be just a bit under an inch an hour, kinda like today.


Funny thing happened last night when I posted on my alter ego ms-smiles at scribblejournal.com it kept putting the date of Dec. 31, 1963 for some reason even though I put the right date in it. HUMM wonder why it did that, or is it some odd super natural something telling me something. **you know sorta like a twilight zone thing** Then again maybe it was just some bug in the system, although it did take me something like 3 or 4 time of trying to change it before it worked. I also notice that the date and time stamp is very off too. Go figure.

Tomorrow I want to do some serious scrapbooking as I have some great ideas for all these snowy day photos I took!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!