Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:20 a.m. - Saturday, Oct. 24, 2003
I've got a gun and I have no qualms about shooting AT you, Varmit!
Watch out everyone, she is armed and dangerous!!! Ok maybe that should be Watch out groundhogs, she is armed and somewhat dangerous.

Yesterday after my nap I got up revived and ready to go! I had begun to clean up the kitchen when the dog wanted out. I let her out for a bit then looked out the window to see if she was ready to come back in and I see her take off making a bee line for what looked like a groundhog, woodchuck whatever you would like to call the varmit in Mom�s back yard. I yelled out the door about the time she reached it and it reared up. Now I�m not sure if it was ill or just too dang lazy to run away but it seemed to think if you don�t move whatever danger will go away. NOT!!! It was soon to find that out. I don�t think it got the got cause she kinda bounced away like she was unhurt, and when she came home I checked her face and legs and stuff to make sure she wasn�t harmed. I�m hoping that the yell and whatever defensive technique it used stopped her before she got to close. Her in PA we seem to have high amounts of rabies, even though she has been immunized for them I still worry that if they have rabies they might have something else too.

After the encounter with the dog that stupid thing just stayed where it was sunning its self in the yard. I called Mom (MIL) and asked her what it was, she confirmed what I thought and told me that she got very close like within 2 yr. of the thing and it didn�t move the other day, and that she suspected it to be ill. I said �well if I can find the .22 and the shells I�ll be over to dispatch it right now..� so I begin to rummage through our arsenal and try to figure out which one is the .22.

At this point I am sure you are thinking I had no business in shooting this weapon if I didn�t know what it was or even how to load it. Right?? Rest assured I have shot guns many many times heck I even owned one but I don�t have it anymore because when David died it was at his house and well whatever was at his house was his, even though he had gotten it for me the year I started hunting with him for my birthday. None the less I sorta knew my way around guns well enough not to kill myself or anything.

I found the .22 he had but it needed a clip and I didn�t know where the clip was all I found was 2 boxes of shells. At this point I gave up and called mom and told her I didn�t know how to load Don�s .22 so she pipes up and say, which by the way cracked me up to no end� �OHH well come on over and use mine it is all loaded and ready to go.�

I was like you keep a loaded gun in your house?? She was like� well yeah� So I go over there and she gives me this really cool very light .22 rifle, it was Dad�s. I sneak up on it still in the back yard however it had started its way towards the property line. I got it at and angle where there was nothing behind it but field and got high enough in her yard that the shell, if I missed would go into the ground. After I didn�t want to hurt that nasty neighbor and have him die before he could see the light and repent. **ooo did I say that???**

So I shot and blew the heck out of the grass behind it, surely this would make it run for the hills.. nope� did it again,, same thing, and again, I do believe at this point Mom was thinking maybe she should have just done it herself�and again,, by this time I can�t figure out why I am such a bad shot. With my 30.6 and my 30.30 I was rather accurate, then I realized this gun had 2 sites.. aaahhh duhhhh so I lined the 2 sited up and hit it in the shoulder/chest area. Now I am sure that this varmit was thinking man I should have been afraid very afraid and ran for hills, boy was this freezing thing stupid. He flopped around and bit I tried to put him out of his misery with another shot but I missed, and with that the gun was empty. Mom kept telling me, ohhh he�ll die� and he did. I think my doggy is yet again safe to roam our yard.

It was kinda exhilarating to do that. I felt like a regular Annie Oakly. Ok not really but it was cool. Mom was happy to have it dead. I should have just let her do it, cause she said she could hit a chicken between the eyes with it many years ago when they harvested their own chickens. I�m sure she wouldn�t have needed 6 shots to hit the dang thing.


Yikes a whole page on how I shot a ground hog.. hehe�

The rest of the day was fun too, I made it to Erie to the night of scrapbooking and the girls and Laurie who I talked into going at the last min. found the wonderful world of die cuts! It was entirely too funny. They cut all kinds of things and had a blast� I now need to buy some more bulk paper but that is ok. They had fun.

I got 2 pages done in my scrapbook and am looking forward to purchasing many many punches for xmas. I am telling Don I would like a gift cert. from this place this year. Today Joanne�s is having a sale I am going to get my case that was originally 150 dollars which is now marked down to 75 which with the coupon that the lady told me about last night I can get it for 50% off that� cool huh?? I plan on doing that today just as soon as I get done in the shop I want to be there a bit before noon to get it. That is when the coupon takes affect.

Well clients should be here any min. now and I�m still in jammies.


Always remember and never forget�.Life it too short not to have memory books! *scrapbooks.**

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!