Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:46 p.m. - 2003-10-23
Hijackers and am I ready to do this?
This begins the Wed. issue of my drivel.. hehe� As I was saying last night I was reading some diaries and such and getting mail and chatting a bit. Things were all hunky dory. Unbeknowneced **ok I can�t spell** to me there was an evil at work in my brand new baby Dell. OHHH I was mortified when I realized it. I was surfing along when I lost my connection, and when I reconnected my browser wouldn�t go anywhere. The address bar kept flashing the same three addresses very very quickly. So I of course did what anyone with a new very expensive computer would do��. I panicked, and trust me I did very good job of it. Such a good job I couldn�t think of what to do, so I call my sister wake her up and was like what is going on and how can I fix it. She was more like I don�t know call Dell and ask them even if it isn�t a Dell issue they may have some idea. So I called the Handy Dandy Dell Dude **said in that resonating deep hero voice�** and told him what was going on and he was like hummm haven�t a clue. Yeah I thought,, man a new computer and now I can�t even surf the net. Sooo we talked a bit and tried some stuff and kinda both came to the conclusion that I was infected with spyware. What this malicious program was doing was telling my browser go to this one web site then it would redirect to another on and then one more and then it would redirect back to the first one. So in essence it disabled by Internet Explorer. GRRRRR� as we talked he said that there was one other thing to try and that was to reset the computer back a day, I went back two because I had downloaded stuff of the net. I did this and it fixed it. Who would have thought the XP would have a handy dandy go back button hehe,,, I guess that GOBACK is actually a trade thing for Gateway, but I am happy to know that it now works on this computer too. I got Laurie out of some jams with her Go Back button.

So I got back on the web and decided that I was not going to be left open to this again and began researching this whole spyware thing. I can�t understand why antiviruses don�t catch it. Spyware is just as malicious as any Trojan or worm. It can totally disable a program so why won�t these companies see this as a real threat and make their software find that too.

After reading some sites that my niece who by the way is the Queen of Search, found. I installed both an antivirus software and a program called spybot which finds all this spyware that hijacked my browser. I honestly have to say I won�t be with out it again and I keep it very up todate, it has updates like virus definition for antivirus programs. I had no way of getting out of this other than to go someplace else download the program and then burn it to a cd, and put in on here to get rid of it. I am way happy that this tech knew about the reset back to a certain date program.

If you would like to know where to get the information on spyware and spybot just go Here

Alrighty then, now that I have finished what I started ahh a few days ago. Now for the stuff that has happened like Yesterday!

Yesterday would have been Wednesday, I was getting my stuff made to take to the church family night ***yummy tortillia chip salsa, sour cream/cream cheese, cheese and lettus dip, of which I didn�t get any cause the guys wouldn�t stand in line..grrr so it was all gone.** *when my phone rings and a lady I have never met said my friend Penny gave her my number and she was wondering if I might be of assistance. So I�m thinking she has some sort of hair emergency. WRONG!!!!

She went on to tell me about her son who is a JR. this year and is having trouble in school and was wondering if I would be his advocate. This pretty much knocked me off my shoes.

Now I have done some meetings with personal friends who found it hard to keep their cool with teachers and administrators that won�t get their kids the help they need. So I just went along after spending some time on what it precisely is that they want done with the child. We got new IEP�s in place and then everyone knew what was expected of them, including the student. This experience was at the elementary level. I�m not so sure that I am ready to deal with high school level. I also am a bit concerned about dealing with this principal. He was our assistant Principal for the last few years and now he is at this other school in our district as Principal. I think these parents want me to hold the law over this school head but I don�t think that is in the best interest of the child right off the bat. I think that we need to do some less threatening things to help everyone understand that everyone is on the same side and wants the same thing. Well as educators they SHOULD want the same thing. Barring the few obnoxious ignorant parents that I know out there most parents of kids with learning disabilities just want to get their kids a decent education.

I also have spent enough time in the class room to know that sometimes there aren�t enough hours in the day, and change in a routine that is comfortable isn�t always welcome. With this in mind I try to bring out the best in everyone but making them feel they make a difference and can do good for this kid and if everybody works hard TOGETHER, this child can get a education that can take him somewhere in life. It will also show him that hard work and perseverance will get him somewhere.

It is so sad to see where education and educators have gone. It is sad that kids have bad attitudes toward school thanks to a few bad teachers which only works against what good teachers try to do. I am hoping this doesn�t turn into a legal battle. I don�t want to be involved with that, after all I am not a lawyer; I am not even a college grad for crying out loud, I am a parent that has been around a little bit, nothing more. I do have a knack for getting to the heart of the matter and laying it out straight, I am hoping that this will help this kid who really wants to graduate on time.

I want to meet with this family soon to discuss things and find out what their attitudes are towards the school officials and teachers. I have an idea and it isn�t a pretty one. I also want to ascertain what the child�s needs are and how to go about getting them met. I am hoping with a very detailed IEP in place this kid can make it through to graduation and be proud of his accomplishments. I think he is owed that after all the years he struggled to get by.

So last night I began getting very very familiar with the laws concerning educating children with learning disabilities. Boy are some of them very very wishy washy and not clear at all. However they are clear in saying that this kid has the right to a DECENT education. **Interpret that!**

I am a bit nervous about the whole thing, I haven�t done this for anyone who hasn�t been a personal friend. I do think I helped or it wouldn�t have gotten around that I even did it. I don�t think I told anyone cause at the time I didn�t think I was making a difference. I was just helping a friend.

It is now late afternoon and I am worried about Mom since she has this kidney infection and it should be almost cleared up by now. She was to go to the docs at 1:30 I was going to go meet her there but I called over an hour before the appointment and there was no answer. I am wondering if Dad took her earlier and they admitted her to the hospital. I could call down there and see I guess then I would know for sure.

Well I guess I should call my client I rescheduled to go and let her know that I didn�t go and I might as well work and worry instead of just worrying..


Always remember and never forget�Positivity gets things done, negativity gets nothing accomplished.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!