Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:30 p.m. - Thurs. Oct. 16, 2003
Sorry there isn't any cheese and crackers to go with this entry.
OYY it feels as though I haven�t posted for about a year, and here is has been only about a day and a half I guess. Yesterday�s was just a quick entry written while doing other things too that I forgot I even posted it.

Tonight I want to whine about teenage crankiness. I can�t understand why my wonderful son would act in such a manner. I know he is the baby and my hubby had done a wonderful job treating him as such and making me look like a mean old ogre, but I have talked to him about this before and he still doesn�t get it. I also understand that he is male, and therefore has only half a brain as I understand it.

He consistently whines about how his sister doesn�t have to do this or that, how he is always picked on and yelled at. This frustrates the hell right out of me because I have tried and tried to tell him that the reason he gets yelled at is because he won�t do what he is told to do when he is told to do it, and the reason his sister doesn�t get yelled at is because she does what she is told to do and most of the time she doesn�t it without having to be told. GRRRRR!!!! I can�t figure out how much plainer I have to make this. Maybe I need to make a chart for 5 days of when I tell them to do something and then write down who I have to say something to more than once to get them to do it. Humm??? Ya think that maybe this would show him that I am not playing favorites and I am love him just as much but I get angry at having to tell a 13 yr old to brush his teeth, or go to bed. For crying out loud, one would think that a kid that age wouldn�t need to be told, but he wouldn�t do it if I didn�t tell him to, at least 3 times. GRRR!!!!!

He has to make those same sorta snide remarks his father does sometimes. Like for instance this evening. We had just finished watching CSI when Kay jokingly made the comment that that show was all about sex, drugs and murder. Well it is� but it is more of a real life thing. Which sometimes I don�t think it is bad to give them a dose of reality to let them know I have reason to worry about them. But anyhow, Paul made some comment about how he isn�t allowed to watch some sit coms because of the sexual content. So finally I turned to him and said well then from now on you will have to find something else out of the room to do then when these shows are on and we **the parents** want to watch them. This touched off a whole chain of stupid comments and then finally ended with �yeah you yell at me to go to bed but does Kayla have to go to bed, nooo I see her light on a lot after you tell her to go to sleep.� To which I think I replied that I didn�t want to hear it. Then when I went to tuck Kay in she said why am I always told it is none of my business what Paul does, when he minds my business all the time. This touched off a series of cranky replies to both kids about going to sleep. NOW!

I keep reminding myself that I should never argue with a teen, I know this, I should explain myself sometimes if I feel it will help the situation but I should never argue with a teen. I am the Mom, I am the Mom, I am the Mom� I am a good Mom, I am a good Mom� I need to keep reminding myself of this because sometimes I let them believe that I am second guessing myself. I feel tired, sorta cranky and maybe a bit on edge this evening. I guess I shouldn�t have had that last mug of coffee. Just like everything else maybe my tolerance to caffeine is lessening. Could happen, I also have a wicked toothache thanks to forgetting to put my mouth guard in last night, compound this with a bit of a sinus headache and I guess that makes me one cranky old lady. *Sigh* I hate cranky old ladies.


In other news today the shop was busy which is a very very good thing. I�ll have a bit of spending money to take to Erie next week.

Hubby boy is giving me the money to go to the scrapbooking fun night in Erie, next Friday. Whaa whooo, it will be 6 hrs of page building with the availability of the stuff she has there, if I spend $15, I get a $5 discount so I am sure that there wont� be a problem spending that much. I am taking Kayla and Melissa with me. I hope we have a great time. Maybe we will stop and get a couple Krispy Kreme donuts on the way home. I hope they have a good time. I�m not sure if I should take all my stuff, I have a whole big tote of stuff. Maybe I�ll just pack a travel bag, and bring the tote in the car. Then if I need something I will have it but not have to lug the whole giant thing in the store. Then again I won�t have the journaling done on the computer as I do, but I am artistic enough to get by I think.

I am a bit nervous about going since I don�t know anybody, and I hope it isn�t a total drag for the girls.


I honestly believe that certain people should not have children, and if they do they should NOT be allowed to be raised in the same household with them. Funny what kids tell a total stranger? I also think that if the other parent realizes the potential for mental abuse they should be found guilty when something happens to the child, which makes for a very sad sad situation indeed. My friend Penny is a foster care provider and the things she tells me. The stupidity of most cases is that it is only one parent doing the abusing, but the other parent either chooses not to see it, or can�t. I�m glad there are people like Penny who is good with these kids. She is a wonderful person.

I guess I should wind this entry up since it has been mostly whining with no cheese or crackers to make it easier. **Sorry I couldn�t find a photo to post of them for ya. Hehe **


Always remember and never forget�life is what happens when you are trying to decide what you will make of it. **I gave up a long time ago..hehe I am what I am! (see diary info if you want to know what that is)**

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!