Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:15 a.m. - Saturday, Oct. 11, 2003
The good the bad and the hard to please.
I guess it is time to put a real entry in here. These last few days have been well ahhh errr can you say a mix of very good and very bad. I hate using the word bad because it is so negative. Let me break it down and you can decide.

Thursday was a very busy day in the shop. Usually I am very good with color. I haven�t turned anyone an unbecoming shade of anything in the last few years, however there is always this danger when you are working with a new line of color. I have started using Redkin about a month ago. I have had some decent results with it, however what positive results I got went right out the window with the 2 colors I did on Thursday. The first on is a regular lady who has platinum blond hair, well her hair is very grey and silver, she wants a warm redish blond, well by the looks of the swatches she picked out that is what she showed me. So I lighten the roots and put this color on and well it went red. It wasn�t an over bearing red, it looked more like a softer red, in my lights. However when she got home she called me back in a few hours and told me she couldn�t take it and needed it fixed so she came back that night. **now at first this lady comes and says she wants a strand test. Well had I known she wanted that I would have planned to do that. This tacks on 45 min to her appointment and messes with the timing. She is also very hard to please.** We try two colors I think will work but they are too light so I figure that the one I chose would be right. WRONG!!! So because of her the next color client comes, she is new I haven�t ever done hers. She is tiger striped with very dark roots on mostly blond hair. So I removed the stripes and made her all blond which is what I think she wants. She sees it and it scares her. OYY!! So I pull it through a cap and put some, what I think should be golden brown on it, well according to the swatch book, which mind you is going right back on Monday. Here it turns out is a drab brown and I didn�t like it, but there wasn�t anything I could really do, she liked it and well that is all that matters. I told her as soon as her roots appear I will foil the dark to the roots to match. I guess I should have foiled it from the start in order to get all the way down. You know I have been doing hair for over 15 yrs and I am still learning.

Anyhow as I was finishing up with the second lady the first lady arrives for the 2nd time. **OHH and why my timing was off I didn�t get on of my regulars hair cuts done cause they needed done at a specific time to get to an orthodontist appt. so they came back to which was ok with them but I wouldn�t charge them for the cut. I just cut her hair and really apologized for the mess up.***

So lady number 1 comes back and I try using a light mix of peroxide with my metalex which is good stuff. This did alter it a bit it brought down the red tones, but didn�t get rid of it. So I had some temporary color which I put on it and she wasn�t happy with it but�. I told her she could be other shades at the supply shop. I tried getting her to use it when she was whining about her color fading but she wouldn�t listen then. OYYY!!! So I haven�t heard from her and I told her to condition her hair well and then the end of this upcoming week I will re-pull it *she can�t have peroxide on her scalp she is allergic* and remove the red and put a nice gold on it. NOT REDKIN though! I need to get a new swatch book if I am go to use this color. I can�t tell what they will come out like if I don�t have swatches. Soo I need to call the other girl and find out if she still likes her hair and if she doesn�t do a bit of foiling in the top and front.

So by Thursday evening I was beat in more ways than tired. I felt I was stupid and I really just wanted to never do hair again. **Well at least color.** It really was one of he worst days I have had in the beauty shop in a very long long time. The nightmare didn�t end till after 9.

That was the bad of the tale now� the good�

Yesterday was Paul�s class trip to Drake Well. If you are history buff you know that the very first oil well was drilled in a tiny town called Titusville, which is only about 45 min from me and about 25 from the school. The kids spent the morning listening to guilds tell us all about the very first oil well. They didn�t use a reg. drill type things they use now they used something that looked sorta like a lopsided chisel. It didn�t really go round and round it was what they called a percussion drill. It took one whole day to go down 3 ft. and most of these wells only produced about 10 barrel a day if you were lucky. We learned so much more but it was neat to learn about someone who lived here and did something amazing. He didn�t discover oil he just was the first one to drill it. Pretty darn cool. The oil industry began in my back yard.

After absorbing tons of knowledge from these wonderful people.. **ha� NOT.. our guide was sorta nasty he shouted at us like a drill sergeant, and as we were leaving he made the comment that the second graders who had just walked by us would probably be better behaved on the train. I was very very insulted!!! If I had just been there myself and that was said I would probably have called his boss and told him what a nasty person he had working for him/her. He should be put in a place to be talking to kids. He was a jerk!!

Anyway after the tours of the who�s what�s and where�s of the birth of the oil industry we boarded the Oil Creek & Titusville train which is the rail system that took the oil from this area to either Titusville or Oil City where it could either be put on a barge or on a wagon train headed for the refineries in Pittsburgh. All that is left of the booming oil industry now is here and there maybe a wooden vat things which were more like giant barrels but they are hard to find since Mother Nature has reclaimed this land. One would never know there had been many thriving towns with hotels, banks, and saloons. The one thing people did back then was when they moved on they took certain things from their homes. The two most expensive things in homes back then were metal nails and windows, so when they would want to move on they would remove the windows and any nails or hardware they could then they would burn the house down to ash, sift the ask and get all the remaining nails and hardware. So there are no ghost towns here. What a shame. Well not really the country side this time of year is absolutely spectacular with the fall foliage. The train ride was fun! Even though there were a few kids who said it was �boring� Grrrr those sorta kids are so spoiled. Burns my butt to try and do something nice for them and they are so ungrateful.. The little brats!

Humm I hope I don�t sound bitter cause there were a lot of kids who appreciated this trip and did enjoy it. I always enjoy trips with the school, for the most part. I get to meet the kids my kids go to school with.

Well I guess I have went on and on enough today. I hope today in the shop goes much better than Thursday.


Always remember and never forget� life is what you make of it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!