Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:08 p.m. - Sunday, Sept. 21, 2003
Hopefully getting the pool closed!
I reserve the right to sensor the music and television that my kids are exposed to. I am not overboard with this right but I think that songs that promote lifestyles that could be threatening to what I am trying to instill in them should not be in my home. Home is a safe place I want to keep free from those influences. I know they will be exposed to them in the world but here I find some of those songs and shows offensive. By setting this example I am hoping that they will understand that ones life is controllable not only in their home but through their lifestyle. Just because they are exposed and it is there for the taking doesn�t mean they have to buy into it.

Those are my convictions. Now every so often I go through their music and randomly listen to it. I don�t care for most of the hard stuff they listen to but I do sample it every so often to make sure that they aren�t listening to stuff that they might not really know what it is **that is what I hope anyway** but may no have my approval. I don�t call this snooping because they know I do it. They also as a general rule listen to pretty good stuff. It used to be different when I was a kid we didn�t have personal CD players with head phones and easy access to music over the internet. We had the radio which is somewhat sensored **thanks to the advertisers who support them.. hehe go advertisers!** So when I was a kid we listened to music out loud as I say or without head phones.

This morning I listened to a song out of Paul�s folder and found that it is one I sorta like to dance to but there was an extra verse that isn�t in the one on the radio. WOOPS� There it is!! Is an understatement. When I asked Paul he said that it wasn�t the version he thought he was getting that I could delete it. Isn�t he a gooooood boy??? I didn�t want to offend him by just taking it off, so I just asked him about it. See communication with your kids pays off every time! So I am feeling very very good about this whole thing. I think that the respect thing has come into play here. I respect his choice of music and he respects that I have to be MOM and make sure it is the right stuff to listen too. I love my kids sooo much. They are such cool people!

Now that I have blown my own horn for a while, actually it is the kids that get the credit.

Speaking of credit Kay and her friends are going to close the pool today. Neat huh?? Since these wonderful kids are going to do this I need to brief Kay so she knows what to tell them to do. Sounds like it is going to be a good day in my neighborhood!!!!


Sorry about this all over about stupid stuff entry. I�ll try to do better tomorrow. Although I must admit that this is how my mind works kinda all over full of nothing important most of the time!

Soo without further ado�.

Always remember and never forget� 13 yr old boy + glasses in a pyramid = water all over. (he is trying to make a fountain thing.)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!