Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:02 p.m. - Tue. Sept. 16, 2003
A Rant about Cheerleading!
Remember when you were a little kid, around 5 or so, your parents or teachers told you that sometimes you won�t like those you have to work with but you still have to work with them and to be nice about it?? Then you were told that again and again over and over again and you thought to yourself "I can�t wait till I am all grown up and I won�t have to work with anyone I don�t want to!" *** Although I have to admit that I told Paul had to work nicely with the group of kids he has lab with this week. He is about as happy as I was when I was told that.***

Well I seem to be still thinking and hoping for that "grown-up" day to come. I went to the cheerleader boosters meeting tonight and I am slowly realizing that I don�t play well with others, mostly our new cheerleading coach.

If you have been following me since the camp you know that things didn�t go too smoothly. This girl tends to inspire attitude and this is NOT what these girls who are full of attitude themselves need. They need someone who says what they mean and mean what they say. That will breed respect and cooperation. Unfortunately I got that impression at camp and from her attitude at the meeting tonight I�m not sure if Kay will make it through this season. She is very not impressed with the way that the girls were punished for their stupidity. To be honest I think the girls who went out the window should have been bounced from the squad, however the coaches said that since the camp wasn�t affiliated with the school they couldn�t bounce them from the squad, and deserved a second chance. My thinking was: "this was their second chance they left an over night fundraiser without permission." If that wasn�t grounds to put them on probation I don�t know what it will take. This is not withstanding the fact that most of the girls really aren�t happy about this. They feel that they are still on the squad because they are Varsity. I also believe that this might really cause some moral problems within the squad. One of these girls happens to be on the wresting squad that Kay is on and well she isn�t happy about it. I can�t help it but I agree with the girls. The problem I have with the whole second chance thing and not affiliated with the school thing is the fact that their previous coach who is a teacher for the district made it mandatory for them to have to go to camp, and they were using the schools name for their squad there. HUMM maybe the school isn�t part of it but dog gone it sure sounds like the school put them there. They also went as a group from our school with their coaches using our school name, hummm sounds a bit like an extension of the school.

In the light of these feelings I am believing that I should stay far away from the boosters if this coach is going to be a part of them. I tend to be way to opinionated to be a good helper anyway. In a way I am hoping that Kay just doesn�t cheer next year. This is supposed to be fun, and I think it will just be a battle of attitudes. Kay won�t put up with that, she will give it right back and get kicked off.

Well while I am grumbling about things there is one other thing that kinda ticks me off. Every other JV squad doesn�t have to stay for Varsity, football is on two different nights, basketball is back to back but their JV is allowed to leave when that game is over. However our wrestling JV isn�t allowed to leave when JV is over. They say it is rude to leave. Well I don�t agree. If they are going to have separate squads then they shouldn�t have to stay. If they are just sitting there not doing anything then why do they have to stay. Kay is taking some major courses this year and I don�t want her academics to suffer. I could understand if all the girls cheered for both groups of boys but they don�t.

OHHH I think I am beginning to get too stressed out too soon!!! Heck the season doesn�t even start till October, I should have a few weeks of no worries! I really wish I were less involved and didn�t really care, you know just drop her off and pick her up and not have an opinion. HA! I doubt I can do that, I am entirely too nosey! I have always said if you aren�t involved then you can�t complain, me I just get involved and complain up a storm, doesn�t do anything but make people hate me. I will be so glad when I don�t have to play nice with this coach.


On a much brighter and better note, a friend who is very gracious called me today. The last time I saw her she was storming out the bridal shop her step dad owned where I worked and was in the process of buying my gown there for her wedding when I just couldn�t take it because this bill was going to be more than I could handle so I told her I couldn�t do it and she was angry and left.

I really thought she hated me and would never want to see me again until she ran into my hubby and kids at wallyworld one day without me and told Kay to have me call her. Well her number is unlisted and Kay couldn�t remember it. Then she ran into my family again at the fair this year and asked Kay again to please have me call her and again she forgot the number, but what she did do is tell her that I would like to hear from her.

So this morning she calls me up and I was so happy to hear from her, she forgave me and said that she didn�t want that to ruin our friendship. She has 3 girls. One 8, one 17 mo., and a brand new one born this summer. I can�t wait to see them. I love babies and I doubt that I will ever see our triplets. So I am looking forward to hanging out with her again. I really missed her and felt bad that we had drifted apart. I am soo happy she called I might call her tomorrow on my day off.

I am so happy tomorrow is Wed. I plan on having an all ME day!! I should never ever complain about a thing since I am so lucky!! I am going to work on the last page or two of Mom�s reunion. The first couple have turned out rather nice I do believe. Maybe I�ll get them scanned tomorrow to share.

I guess I need to quit being so long winded and wind this up and let you go on to something more entertaining. I can�t believe this turned into such a "rant."


Always remember and never forget�Sometimes you just have to play well with others like it or not!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!