Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:51 p.m. - Friday, September 5, 2003
Just another example of how easily I'm amused!
I seem to be getting stuff done little by little it is a rather odd feeling I must admit. I still didn�t get the 2 jobs done that was goal for the week, but I did get me bathroom semi-clean, and I finished up the quilt binding project **more on that later** ! My goal jobs were to clean out the area inside the new porch door, which might be a scary prospect as I think the dirty sock monster lives there, yes I know another monster in my house. **Pretty soon I don�t think I will have anywhere left to live. Giggle.. My room will soon be taken over by the giant dust bunny monster!** Anyhow, the other job I need to get done is the cleaning up of the end table that is by our lazy boy chair where everybody puts stuff. I need to take some more stuff to the thrift store. I will so try not to take anything that isn�t mine this time. OYY!

I had a great day today. I worked on the binding which by the way I am anxious to show you. This is what they call a Double Wedding Ring quilt..

My Mom�s sister made this quilt top for me ohh about 3 yr. ago now. My Mom bought the batting and the backing and had it quilted by her quilting group. **This was a wonderful wonderful gift as it costs about $300 for that. The quilting by the group alone would charge $200, hopefully Mom got a discount since she was paying for it.** This quilt in monetary value would run upwards of $500, however to me it is absolutely priceless. This particular Aunt is the sweetest lady. She has kids who take advantage of her without giving anything back. I think it is soo sad her daughter told her to just put her hair up in a bun because she wasn�t going to cut it. OYY! I know everybody had their hang-ups and strange relationships but well I think doing things for one�s parents should be a respect thing. I am probably not seeing the whole pic, but still. Mom and I are planning on taking the quilt down to show her and I�ll take my stuff and cut her hair. She is well into her 90�s now and doesn�t get around well. I do need to remember to take a permanent marker to have her sign & date it to make it more valuable.

The second thing I got done today was to take a photo of the bib�s I entered in the fair. The bigger baby bib took 3rd place, but the smaller baby doll bib didn�t place at all. I showed Joyce and she said they were beautiful and they would look wonderful over Nora�s (her daughter) new baby�s christening dress. She says if I make her a pink one she will make a dress without a collar so that she can wear them as a set. I can�t wait to get them washed and sent to Nora.

I can�t believe that I am having a fairly mellow Friday evening. This summer was soo hectic that it just seems that I haven�t done this in forever. Kay went to babysit, Don and Paul went deer spotting, and I watched old Disney movies on the Hallmark channel while I finished up the quilt binding. I am hoping to do a fire with John and Laurie tomorrow night if they want to come up. That would be nice, since we are supposed to have nice weather this weekend. Should be camping but it is rather cold at night now.

I also did something so nerd-like that I am almost too embarrassed to mention but well it struck me funny. Today while I was stitching away on the binding thing, I was perusing the guide. I knew we were getting new channels but never really looked at them so I was doing some exploring. One of the new channels is Tech TV. I was watching Screensavers I like that show. The nerd-like thing was I got on line and was reading their web site while watching the show. How nerdy is that???

Another channel I found was the Hallmark Channel. It is a really cool channel. Don just had to have the outdoor channel so he had to get the next bigger package from our satellite cable supplier. In the last two days I have found so many cool things on tv. I, as a general rule am working during the day so I don�t have time for tv, and nobody wants to watch what I want to watch in the evening or I don�t think there is anything on to watch, besides that all the good stuff is on during the day. For instance I have found a channel that is called DYI, I had heard stuff but could never find the web page to see what it was all about. Now I get it and ohh they have the most lovely shows. They have a show EVERYDAY on nothing but scrapbooking. Can you believe that?? OHH MY GOSH it is absolutely the coolest thing. I never knew this existed I plan on doing some more scrapbook pages while the stuff is fresh in my mind. I did come up with some gift ideas for Christmas this year too. I�ll show you if I ever make them.

This whole TV thing could become addicting, since I will be held captive for a while longer making a bunting for one of my friends here right quick. She was due Labor day, hehe get it "labor" day,,, we had fun with that one. I hope she puts that in her baby�s book. I plan on getting started on that next week although I do have more hair scheduled than this week thank goodness. I am glad I had the time to do some stuff but I need the money! Good thing we got all those new channels to keep my tiny mind amused while I get these projects done. hehe!

I guess I have reached that point where I need to just stop typing cause I am afraid I could go on forever about how I had a $7 + change late fee on the library books I forgot to return. **my way of donating to the library** Or I could go on about how the weather is cold and the pool now has ice water I do declare! I expected to find algae growing since I haven�t filtered or checked any chemicals for well over a week. I was surprised to find that the chemicals were good and just some bugs and stuff on the bottom. It will be closed this weekend! Alrighty then,, see I could go on but I will return you to your regularly scheduled program. **grin tv humor**

Always remember and never forget�accomplishing stuff makes one feel good!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!